Re-wiring a 110 ... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old August 10th, 2006, 06:54 PM
Retrofit's Avatar
Retrofit
Status: Offline
Pat
1984 110 CrewCab 200Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 474
Re-wiring a 110 ...

When they did the chassi swap in the UK they took the lazy way and chopped all the electric at the bulkhead and then kind of put them back in some sort of order. And since the body is from a Td5 truck and is now fitted with a 200 tdi well ther is just a whole bunch of cut wires and it is not clean at all.

So now I need to re-wire the 110, anyone know the best route to go about ... new wiring harness (wich one) ? or home made one like OEM same color code and all (the route I previously used).

Thanks for all your "savoir faire" !

Pat
__________________
" You never, ever, ever go full retard ! "

Kirk Lazarus, Tropic Thunder


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
color="Red">CanadaOverland.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old August 10th, 2006, 09:22 PM
JSQ's Avatar
JSQ
Status: Offline
Jack Quinlan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leucadia, CA
Posts: 582
I rewired my 110 pretty quickly after I got it. The original loom was burned up in places and had been tapped into and spliced in so many places by various generations of Canadian soldiers that I decided to hell with it.

I secured a firewall engine harness for a civie car but I had to create my own harness for the lighting. I had the advantage of working with a 2.5 NA diesel and a softop so my electrics were at a minimum, but a 200tdi should still be pretty simple.

I really recommend trying to obtain the firewall harness. I can't imagine making this from scratch. Doing the lights and what not aren't a big deal, but mainly because there's plenty of room to run it all. The other nice thing about using the factory harness is that the stripey current carrying (not BUS) wire you see on your truck is very hard to come by. Essentially, striped wire is expensive and difficult to find which means that if you weave your own loom it won't match up to the factory wiring diagram. It's nice for those wires to be the proper colors later on when you're trying to trouble shoot a problem.

It was a fair amount of work for me, maybe 20 to 30 hours for the whole job, but in the end I felt great knowing everything worked properly and would be reliable. Plus if you haven't done it before you'll learn quite a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 10th, 2006, 10:08 PM
Retrofit's Avatar
Retrofit
Status: Offline
Pat
1984 110 CrewCab 200Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 474
I have rewiered a couple of cars before and a "Heep" too but I was just wandering if it is hard to get the OEM harness or something similar but from what I have read i will probably make my own from scratch with the proper color coding and so on ... Unless someone points me in an other direction ...

Thanks

Pat

Follow-up Post:

Any take on the Painless wiring harness ?

www.painlesswiring.com
__________________
" You never, ever, ever go full retard ! "

Kirk Lazarus, Tropic Thunder


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
color="Red">CanadaOverland.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old August 10th, 2006, 10:20 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
I used a painless subharness for my accessories and located one of their weatherproof fuseboxes in the battery box under the seat. Its high quality.

I re-wired my truck when it was apart with a new main body harness from Rovers Down South. It was around 600 buck a couple years ago, but I prefer to have a stock set up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 11th, 2006, 04:15 AM
ne4x4's Avatar
ne4x4
Status: Offline
Ian McCormack
1984 Landrover 90
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 98
I built my harness, all wiring colour codes match, all wiring contained in convoluted tubing. Just takes a lot of time beforehand figuring out all the colours you need and amounts, how many multiplugs you need, which ones etc. Rigging it all up wasn't too bad. I had more bother because I was installing my own custom fure/relay board and rewiring the dash completely as well
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	normal_DSCF0937.JPG
Views:	114
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	6208   Click image for larger version

Name:	normal_DSCF0919.JPG
Views:	111
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	6209  

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 11th, 2006, 03:02 PM
JSQ's Avatar
JSQ
Status: Offline
Jack Quinlan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leucadia, CA
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by ne4x4
I built my harness, all wiring colour codes match, all wiring contained in convoluted tubing. Just takes a lot of time beforehand figuring out all the colours you need and amounts, how many multiplugs you need, which ones etc. Rigging it all up wasn't too bad. I had more bother because I was installing my own custom fure/relay board and rewiring the dash completely as well

That looks pretty clean.


your truck has about 12 more relays than mine.
lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 14th, 2006, 04:04 AM
ne4x4's Avatar
ne4x4
Status: Offline
Ian McCormack
1984 Landrover 90
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 98
it doeas, thats one of the advantages of building your own harness, you can incorporate everything that you need at the start. The additional relays are for roof mounted spotlights, air horns and the twin electic fans
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
110, wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1983 110 import report - Long grnrvrs Defender Technical Discussions 28 October 22nd, 2010 11:52 AM
Best way across the US Mike Hippert Defender Technical Discussions 173 April 29th, 2010 04:56 PM
early 110 dash wiring Abrooks Defender Technical Discussions 7 May 28th, 2008 04:34 PM
Build a 110? Chaucer Misc. Chit-Chat 36 March 19th, 2008 08:27 PM
Electrical Wiring (rather long) Davis Defender Technical Discussions 3 September 22nd, 2006 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Copyright