Radio install/wiring help needed. - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old August 5th, 2007, 05:20 PM
Firefighter2904's Avatar
Firefighter2904
Status: Offline
jason
97 d-90
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 124
Exclamation Radio install/wiring help needed.

Hi Guys

I just spent tle last 5 hours reading old posts and searching the web for help. I think I am even more confused then when I started.

Here is my current situation. The PO had someone install a new alpine stereo. When he did, he cut the factory wiring all up, left one wire attached to the plug and left that mess there. The installer also ran new wires up the cubby out the bulkhead into the engine bay, from there to the doors. What he then did was cut/splice wires at factory wiring.

Also for some reason the factory amp is unplugged, I dont know why and I dont want to plug it in!

Here are my questions.

1. Any idea why installer would have cut out factory speaker wiring to front speakers, yet spliced in at the fire wall area. there are some wires not even attached.

2. any idea why amp is not plugged in? and is it a big deal to use this amp with after market radio ?

3. dosnt factory amp need to be plugged in to make ecu work or rewired/bypassed???

4. Can I just get the harness that goes from the factory radio plug back to where it goes into the ecu/amp area? id like to replace it so it looks factory and I can use a adaptor from cruthfield from my radio to factory plug.

5. I know I also read about grounding the radio and amp and ecu or ecu wont read. i am totally confused by this.

6. Should I just cut out all of the new speaker wire/ splice to factory wiring for front speakers and re do it with new stuff? or maybe get factory harness that goes to speakers? I just want it safe and clean looking.


7. any other major radio pitfalls i should look out for or previous install pitfalls, because the previous install burned some other wires up due to shitty splicing.


I am not a mechanic nor do I play one on TV, so I need idiot terms and instructions.

Thanx guys

Jason
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old August 5th, 2007, 05:30 PM
Abrooks's Avatar
Abrooks
Status: Offline
Tony Brooks
.
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,926
Jason, I'm not sure how useful this will be, but on my old '93 lwb, I ran into a lot of problems trying to put a new headunit in. It turns out that the factory setup used some wierd grounding methodology whereby there was a universal ground for all of the speakers (or something like that). In any case, the easiest solution in the long term was to run new wires for everything and bypass the original amp. If I had to do it all over again, I'd just rip out the old stuff and start over -- you might consider doing the same. At least then you'll know it was done right and stereos aren't really that hard to wire up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 5th, 2007, 05:36 PM
Firefighter2904's Avatar
Firefighter2904
Status: Offline
jason
97 d-90
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 124
im all for ripping stuff out and replacing it. I just dont want any of the complications I read about. my damn head is spinning.


Espically with the ecu amp issue. I dont really understand it, thats my main confusion. and the fact I just want plug and play with factory harness.


Jason
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old August 7th, 2007, 08:39 PM
needsaD110's Avatar
needsaD110
Status: Offline
Ben
97 D90 #1345
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashville,TN
Posts: 166
My 92' Classic had a bad factory head unit,blown sub,punctured speakers,etc...
So what I did was use the power wires and dimmer wires from the factory harness and spliced them into my JVC head unit. From there I knew that i couldn't use the factory AMP, so i stripped all the stuff out of it and put a 400watt 4channel amp were the fact. amp was.
I then ran the front speaker output of the amp to the front doors speakers and ran the new cable into the doors and hooked them up. I replaced every speaker in the car with POLK AUDIO DB-series while I was doing this. While i had everything out I spliced into the JVC rear speaker output and ran them to the back headliner speakers. Why I didn't run the rear speakers off the amp is I added a JL audio w1 12' and used the rear speaker outputs for that. This sounds great in the classic even with a straight pipe, If I was you I'd just re-do everything. It also only took me a day to do all this

My d90 has a JL audio amp in the passenger seat box, I can get a pic if you want
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 8th, 2007, 02:18 AM
chris snell's Avatar
chris snell
Status: Offline
Chris Snell
87 Ex-MOD 110
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,439
Rip it out and start fresh. No telling what other kinds of hokey half-ass crap was done by that installer. You don't want a short or wiring problem biting you in the ass later on; might as well tear it out and do it right.
__________________
1987 Ex-MOD 110 Tithonus LHD
2013 LR4


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 8th, 2007, 09:39 PM
huck1974's Avatar
huck1974
Status: Offline
shane cates
94 d90
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 890
Your factory amp will not put out the watts as a good aftermarket head unit and the splices may have been because of not having a good source for a wiring harness adapter at the time. Does the radio really affect the ecu? It would be new one for me. My Caddy would have onstar issues. It should be a basic rewire job that would take a few hours to do from fresh with limited stereo experience. All speakers to head unit will use the common ground from the head unit. All amplified speakers will use the common ground wherever the amp ground is connected. A real good friend is a pro and I could pass you his number if you have difficulties. He will talk you through it. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
radio, wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Radio plugs work in 95 D90? Gkase Defender Technical Discussions 11 July 25th, 2011 12:41 PM
D90 radio harness needed Gkase Wanted 7 September 5th, 2006 05:12 PM
'97 Defender radio & changer setup? Defender50th Defender Technical Discussions 6 September 27th, 2005 11:22 PM
Electrical short with my radio ? paulb Defender Technical Discussions 4 August 11th, 2004 12:25 PM
97 radio plug arrangements Gkase Defender Technical Discussions 1 October 6th, 2003 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Copyright