Question on Axles - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old November 10th, 2006, 03:34 PM
bterpstra
Brian Terpstra

Question on Axles

Don't beat me up - I did a search first, but didn't get much.

Since I've got 4.10 gears, a 4-1 case, and ARBs in the front & rear, I feel like it's only a matter of time before something goes crunch. Keep in mind, I'm a banker not an engineer so if you respond with any technical stuff use 2 syllables or less. I doubt I ever go over 33" for the tires but i'd like to be able to do 35" without having to worry.

Considering a few options- remember this is from a guy who can barely fix a bicycle, so breakage for me is a VERY bad thing.

-MD/Rovertracks axles - 1541H material, but case hardened not through hardened. If i remember right, not a wasted design.

-GBR axles - base material is less impact resistance but through hardened (again, assuming i remember correctly). Design is wasted so less susceptible to shear near the splines.

-CV's - I assume you replace those along with the front axle shafts.

-Toyota- much more expensive, but if I spent the extra cash do i get enough add'l strength to make it worthwhile? Would have to have the e-locker naturally. Doing it right, doesn't that involve changing the entire housing or just the 3rd & shafts?

So questions:
1) Any opinions on GBR vs. MD vs. Toyota?
2) What about the R&P? If I change the axles shafts, am I really accomplishing anything or am I just moving the problem further up the driveline?
3) Finally, if I generally have a light foot and aren't going super-extreme, does it really matter which one of those options I go with? (Most extreme thing I've done is Holy Cross in CO, Wheeler Lake, some Moab stuff like Poison Spider.)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old November 10th, 2006, 04:04 PM
Nomar
Jeff B
RR HNTR,RR LWB Tdi

Registry