Ordering a headlight relay harness - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old September 17th, 2011, 11:06 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Ordering a headlight relay harness

I'm about to order the harness from Rallylights.com (Susquehanna Motor Sports), just not sure if its conventionally switched (my guess) or switched ground (which I would assume was done for spite).

http://www.rallylights.com/detail.aspx?ID=3730

or

http://www.rallylights.com/detail.aspx?ID=1247

ideas? yes I searched, admittedly not much.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old September 17th, 2011, 11:36 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,230
Registry
They are conventionally switched.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 17th, 2011, 11:37 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Thanks.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old September 17th, 2011, 11:38 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,230
Registry
You will probably need extra wire to reach the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 17th, 2011, 08:27 PM
silverlight's Avatar
silverlight
Status: Offline
Geoff
1993 Defender 110 NAS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYState
Posts: 103
It's a little more expensive, but not by much, I got the Painless H4 harness. Still have to install it but will probably do it this weekend.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PRF-30815/
http://www.amazon.com/Painless-Wirin...6305594&sr=8-1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 18th, 2011, 04:30 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
You will probably need extra wire to reach the battery.
Yeah I'll probably extend the Red wire in order to reach the battery easily.
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverlight View Post
It's a little more expensive, but not by much, I got the Painless H4 harness. Still have to install it but will probably do it this weekend.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PRF-30815/
http://www.amazon.com/Painless-Wirin...6305594&sr=8-1
Thanks, but I'd like to give the business to this guy. He's local to me and I've spoken to him on the phone a few times about other stuff I was trying to find. good guy.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 18th, 2011, 06:04 PM
defeyago's Avatar
defeyago
Status: Offline
Santiago
96 Defender 110 VGTdi SW County
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 228
Registry
You can put the red wire on the starter, no need to got all the way to the battery, I guess.

Cheers,
__________________
SANTIAGO
96 Defender 110 VGTdi SW County
97 Defender 110 Tdi SW
04 Freelander Td4 5 dr.
97 Alfa Romeo 146 TD (Sold)
95 Volvo 850 GLT Estate
94 Discovery Tdi (Webasto equipped)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 19th, 2011, 02:00 AM
CDeWan
Status: Offline
Clay DeWan
5.3L beastie
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,493
wire

I am with Santiago on that one. I ran a heavy duty wire off the starter to the a small terminal box that I mounted by the coil so I could pull power when needed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 19th, 2011, 10:45 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by defeyago View Post
You can put the red wire on the starter, no need to got all the way to the battery, I guess.

Cheers,
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDeWan View Post
I am with Santiago on that one. I ran a heavy duty wire off the starter to the a small terminal box that I mounted by the coil so I could pull power when needed.
good call, thanks
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 23rd, 2011, 11:10 PM
nikojo's Avatar
nikojo
Status: Offline
John
D90 SW -- 2.8PS
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fly over Country
Posts: 587
Don't know if anyone's seen/installed these but it seems nice because it's plug and play........connectors are already made for Defender.

http://www.traxide.com.au/HL_kits.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 24th, 2011, 10:19 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I have an unused ARB headlight harness that I can part with. If any is interested send a PM.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 25th, 2011, 10:44 PM
rlynch356's Avatar
rlynch356
Status: Online
Robert Lynch
1995 NAS
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 2,207
I used the ARB one, just run a hot from the battery to the engine compartment and mount the relays. Simple install
__________________
Defenders don't wear out they just need more parts.

95' D90 - daily driver..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 25th, 2011, 11:11 PM
Abrooks's Avatar
Abrooks
Status: Offline
Tony Brooks
.
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillstrubl View Post
Thanks, but I'd like to give the business to this guy. He's local to me and I've spoken to him on the phone a few times about other stuff I was trying to find. good guy.
Agreed, I've bought a good amount of stuff for them for rovers over the years, but they also proved to be a massive help sourcing a replacement HID bulb for my Audi. Took a ton of time to make sure they got me the right part at a significant savings over what I could source it from any of the audi places.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 2nd, 2011, 05:22 PM
silverlight's Avatar
silverlight
Status: Offline
Geoff
1993 Defender 110 NAS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYState
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlynch356 View Post
I used the ARB one, just run a hot from the battery to the engine compartment and mount the relays. Simple install
Question for you. I tried the Painless harness this weekend (just laid out the wires to check lengths), and it's not long enough to reach the passenger side headlamp on the assumption I mount the relays close to the firewall on the drivers side. (this is assuming I run the wire along the firewall with other wires and then follow the passenger side along wheel well into the headlamp).

Was the ARB harness long enough to accomplish this? Would like to keep the wiring harness running in the conventional routes...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 3rd, 2011, 03:10 AM
rlynch356's Avatar
rlynch356
Status: Online
Robert Lynch
1995 NAS
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 2,207
Yes it was - the pass side fits easily. I mounted the relays onthe drivers side of the fender overhang on a small aluminum bracket i made from some sheet AL. I ran a constant + lead from the battery to the wheel well area and attached the harness there. This is also big enough for mounting Aux light harnesses etc when i insall them.
__________________
Defenders don't wear out they just need more parts.

95' D90 - daily driver..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 3rd, 2011, 10:26 AM
silverlight's Avatar
silverlight
Status: Offline
Geoff
1993 Defender 110 NAS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYState
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlynch356 View Post
Yes it was - the pass side fits easily. I mounted the relays onthe drivers side of the fender overhang on a small aluminum bracket i made from some sheet AL. I ran a constant + lead from the battery to the wheel well area and attached the harness there. This is also big enough for mounting Aux light harnesses etc when i insall them.
Thx, appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 25th, 2011, 07:22 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
I received the Susquehanna Motor Sports harness today, will probably install this weekend. Very impressed with the build quality. Very heavy gauge wire, he even added a jumper wire from the high beams to trigger my driving lights. Looks very good.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0948.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	43162  
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 27th, 2011, 05:34 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Installed the harness

I put the harness in today after work, honestly it couldn't have taken more than 10 minutes of actual work (not including laying it out, etc). Plug and play, ran the main hot and ground all the way back to the battery (may reroute that later). The difference in light is staggering. My low beams now are significantly brighter than my high beams were before. From when I made the call to when it arrived at my door (full disclosure we're in the same state) was 2 business days. He had me ballpark distances between relay mounting location, battery box and lights over the phone and custom cut all the lengths which were perfect. Thanks very much RallyLights.com very impressed with the build quality and speed. The 2nd to last pic was before then harness, last was after. I'll do some more pics at night if requested (as the harness is easily reversible, no cutting or drilling).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0957.jpg
Views:	269
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	43199   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0959.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	43200  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0960.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	43201   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0958.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	71.4 KB
ID:	43202  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0961.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	43203  
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 28th, 2011, 08:13 AM
MonLand
Status: Offline
Loic Fabro
95 D90 - 96 Disco -06 LR3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA - USA
Posts: 1,642
Registry
Just curious:
- where did you locate the relays? Engine bay? Inside the cab?
- where do you pick up the switching signal? From the steering headlight switch, from a plug somewhere?
- how is the stock wiring routed from the steering switch onward?

I've meant to do what you just did for a while but never got to it! :[ it seems so easy that I'm running out of excuses...
__________________
Quote:
I have an ex MoD and an ex wife. The two no longer conflict with each other.
Quote:
it is not hoarding it is selective collecting
---
MonLand
1995 D90 NAS
1996 Discovery NAS
2006 LR3 NAS (hers, but comfy! :) )
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 28th, 2011, 09:52 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
-Relays are currently located on the firewall with some other relays/electronics that were already there (picture 2). I may eventually move them inside the cab or in the battery box. They seem fine where they are though.

-The switching signal is obtained through one of the original headlight plugs (the other one I just left unplugged but tied back). Basically I flip the headlight switch and power is then sent through the OEM wiring, into the relay, which pulls power directly from the battery, and powering the harness' plugs which now feed the lights. Everything is easily reversible by just unplugging the harness, then plugging the original plugs back into the back of the headlights.

-The stock wiring is unchanged, other than the one headlight plug not being used.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ht, relay

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARB Headlight Wiring Harness d90dang Wanted 2 August 2nd, 2011 05:40 PM
Headlight relay Palomino Defender Technical Discussions 4 June 10th, 2011 05:53 PM
ARB Headlight Wiring Harness Gore Ranger Defender Technical Discussions 39 May 30th, 2011 05:56 AM
Relay replacement help cgalpin Defender Technical Discussions 21 April 18th, 2005 07:42 AM
LR Glow Plug relay temp? dmarchand Defender Technical Discussions 0 June 9th, 2004 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Copyright