No headlights... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old December 5th, 2010, 05:01 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
No headlights...

On the 3 position switch Off-Parking/City lights-Headlights nothing works when in the furthest (headlights) position. Checked all the fuses, fine. Bulbs are fine. My thoughts are the switch itself is bad, just figured i'd post and see what anybody else thought.

ideas? anything quick I can check?
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old December 5th, 2010, 06:34 PM
Ragland's Avatar
Ragland
Status: Offline
Robert Ragland
1994 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 646
Mine has failed two or three times since owning the truck. You can pull the lower panel off the column and get at the switch. You will see the contacts melt the surrounding plastic. If you fidget with it, you can get the contacts points to connect, allowing you a temporary fix until the new switch arrives.

How did I figure this out - caught 15 miles away from home at night when it failed the first time.
__________________
"Uhh...I think they all leak like that."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 5th, 2010, 08:45 PM
dchapman
Status: Offline
Daniel Chapman
1999 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragland View Post
Mine has failed two or three times since owning the truck. You can pull the lower panel off the column and get at the switch. You will see the contacts melt the surrounding plastic. If you fidget with it, you can get the contacts points to connect, allowing you a temporary fix until the new switch arrives.

How did I figure this out - caught 15 miles away from home at night when it failed the first time.
Buy the harness and you'll never have to worry about it again.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old December 5th, 2010, 08:48 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragland View Post
Mine has failed two or three times since owning the truck. You can pull the lower panel off the column and get at the switch. You will see the contacts melt the surrounding plastic. If you fidget with it, you can get the contacts points to connect, allowing you a temporary fix until the new switch arrives.

How did I figure this out - caught 15 miles away from home at night when it failed the first time.
Damn, similar tale for me. Caught about 15 miles away from my house on the way from DC to Philly at night... good thing I had just wired my fog lights. So I drove from DC->Philly and back with parking and fogs, good enough (sorry to the people on I-95 I was behind...)
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 5th, 2010, 09:02 PM
xplorUtah's Avatar
xplorUtah
Status: Offline
Andrew P
1960 SII
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 1,131
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSBriggs View Post
Yea, its the switch. Its a known flaw. The best thing to do is to get an aftermarket relay harness for your headlights to save the new switch.

-Jeff
Jeff, Any chance you have a picture of said harness? Or source? My switch failed on running lights. Everything worked with headlights on. Got into the column and found one (running light wire) wire cut, a relay and black wire installed. I thought it was for fogs that aren't on it anymore (guess).
Drew
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 5th, 2010, 10:56 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
any particular relay kit people recommend?

This IPF one (http://www.sierraexpeditions.com/ind...t_detail&p=584 ) seems to be the cheapest one. I don't want to be stingy, but if its basically the same thing theres no reason to pay far more for a different brand...

or a custom made one? -> http://www.rallylights.com/detail.aspx?ID=1247
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 6th, 2010, 06:31 AM
maleger
Status: Offline
Marc-Andre Leger
94D90 CDN#18 http://rover.leger.ca
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 395
Registry
I have made my own in the past. You just need some wires, heat shrink tubing, tie wraps and a few relays. Takes 2-3 hours to do a goos job.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 6th, 2010, 09:56 AM
dbj2003
Status: Offline
Brandon Jones
94 Defender 90 POE
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 220
This brings back memories. Mine failed on I-40 in the mountains late one night. The construction median was about 5 feet wide and 18 wheelers were blowing by in packs. Hot-wired the lights with scraps in my console. Scary.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 7th, 2010, 09:35 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by maleger View Post
I have made my own in the past. You just need some wires, heat shrink tubing, tie wraps and a few relays. Takes 2-3 hours to do a goos job.
Used 1 relay for low beams 1 for high beams? I guess city/parking lights are fine as is.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 8th, 2010, 09:43 PM
Campbell's Avatar
Campbell
Status: Offline
Rich Campbell
06 LR3 01DII D90s sold
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,512
Registry
I have been through two switches and I think my third is acting up. Anyone ever just use a different switch?
Is it possible.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 9th, 2010, 10:45 AM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Campbell View Post
I have been through two switches and I think my third is acting up. Anyone ever just use a different switch?
Is it possible.
honestly, based on all i'm reading there is probably little to nothing wrong with the actual switch (other than not being able to hold the relay-less load). The design w/o relays is just stupid. I'm going to get the SMS (http://www.rallylights.com/detail.aspx?ID=1247) harness in the near future to keep this from happening again.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 9th, 2010, 08:14 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSBriggs View Post
Danny, the IPF kit IS the ARB kit. it works great.
-Jeff
Thanks Jeff,
will keep that in mind.


on another note: I'm becoming a big fan of the city lights (all I have left until I replace the switch)... In downtown DC its totally unnecessary to run actual headlights because of the amount of street lighting. It would be great to not be blinded constantly.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ht, lights

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Beam Headlights Quit JimC Defender Technical Discussions 7 January 29th, 2006 07:54 PM
Headlights - switch problem? mgrgpg Defender Technical Discussions 3 December 14th, 2005 03:42 PM
My headlights are not working woldd90 Defender Technical Discussions 13 December 2nd, 2005 10:49 AM
Yaaaaaaaaaaaarg! Frigging headlights solihul Defender Technical Discussions 2 June 23rd, 2005 10:29 PM
Help - My 90's headlights don't work solihul Defender Technical Discussions 5 May 20th, 2005 01:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Copyright