newbie question re: doors and tops - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old June 29th, 2004, 12:49 AM
jaherring
Jason Herring
94 D90 ST #1253

newbie question re: doors and tops

OK, more "I'm a D90 newb" questions...

1) Can wagon doors fit on fiberglass top D90s? Will they seal?

2) Can fiberglass-top style tailgates be fitted to wagon D90s?

3) Is a wagon metal top that much more difficult to remove the top from and use as a softtop as opposed to a fiberglass top?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 29th, 2004, 01:53 PM
smenzel
Sandro
1967 Series IIA

-3- I don't know anything about the fiberglass top but ...

The metal tops are easy to remove. They're held on by a bunch of nuts+bolts. It should take twenty to thirty minutes to remove them all. The most time consuming (and possibly difficult) part is lining everything up when you put it back on. For some reason, the sides don't like to line up very easily for me.
Old June 29th, 2004, 08:49 PM
jaherring
Jason Herring
94 D90 ST #1253

So when you pull off your wagon top, do you put on a soft top? What do you do for the doors - side and rear? Do you keep a spare rear 1/2 door around? Do your full doors seal against the soft top?

Thanks for the info...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 30th, 2004, 02:44 AM
evilfij
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person

Yes, yes

No

3) Is a wagon metal top that much more difficult to remove the top from and use as a softtop as opposed to a fiberglass top?

The soft top mounts to the soft top style roll cage. generally, a metal hard top and a US style soft top are mutually exclusive.
Old June 30th, 2004, 12:04 PM
smenzel
Sandro
1967 Series IIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaherring