Newbie and taking a look at my first Defender - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old August 1st, 2016, 02:45 AM
Cobrakillerta
Joe
None

Newbie and taking a look at my first Defender

So, I'm not new to working on cars, but I'm new to Defenders. Besides my many daily drivers, I've had a few pony cars over the years and have always done my own work. I've always liked the Defender and came across an '86 Defender 90, RHD, manual, non-turbo diesel that is being sold by a local Land Rover shop which is asking $15k.

What should I look for?
Is the non-turbo diesel a big negative?
Am I crazy thinking I may daily-driver this 90?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 1st, 2016, 03:07 AM
leastonce
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobrakillerta View Post
So, I'm not new to working on cars, but I'm new to Defenders. Besides my many daily drivers, I've had a few pony cars over the years and have always done my own work. I've always liked the Defender and came across an '86 Defender 90, RHD, manual, non-turbo diesel that is being sold by a local Land Rover shop which is asking $15k.

What should I look for?
Is the non-turbo diesel a big negative?
Am I crazy thinking I may daily-driver this 90?
Non-turbo means it will be very slow ... not ideal for driving on the LIE.

price is always a function of condition ...
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 1st, 2016, 03:11 AM
Cobrakillerta
Joe
None

Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post
Non-turbo means it will be very slow ... not ideal for driving on the LIE.

price is always a function of condition ...