New Speedo Install Help - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 26th, 2009, 07:53 AM
FlaD90's Avatar
FlaD90
Status: Offline
Tom
1994 ST D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl, USA
Posts: 525
New Speedo Install Help

I'm currently converting to electronic speedo on the D90 and still waiting for the Transducer to arrive, but I could not wait to see it on at night.

I wired interior light power to pins# +4 & -7 but nothing happens, can anyone point out what I'm doing wrong?

Here is a pin layout fot the speedo:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TD5-Speedo.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	185.1 KB
ID:	18425  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 26th, 2009, 08:57 AM
Hoosier's Avatar
Hoosier
Status: Offline
Chris Hinkle
More than I need
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 634
Black is your ground. Take a voltmeter and figure out which of the others is giving you a 12v source with the lights. It may be a fuse or some other issue, but the voltmeter should help to sort the issue. On my instruments I have a commorn source suppling the necessary 12v to all the instruments - not just the speedometer. Are the other guages lighting up?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 26th, 2009, 08:58 AM
FlaD90's Avatar
FlaD90
Status: Offline
Tom
1994 ST D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl, USA
Posts: 525
yes, all others are lit with the same power source for night time lighting.
but you are correct let me put the trusty voltmeter to check the input pins into the speedo head.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2009, 09:04 AM
cabell's Avatar
cabell
Status: Offline
Cabell Crowther
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
Posts: 476
The electronic speedo illumination is in series with the other guage illumination. Red / orange I think, possibly red white on your truck. Check your ground(s), there are several coming into the guage area. Do you have the td5 binnacle wiring loom? It makes things much easier. If you bought the speedo used you could have bad bulbs ( I did). Get the bulbs from your local BMW stealership ($5), as RN charges $27 ea.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2009, 09:23 AM
FlaD90's Avatar
FlaD90
Status: Offline
Tom
1994 ST D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl, USA
Posts: 525
I do have the TD5 wiring loom & just tied into it, very easy....I will check tonight for voltage at the pins...The bulbs are a good suggestion to check
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2009, 10:02 AM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
I don't know how the gauge is wired internally, but it is possible that you need to have either the constant 12v or ignition connected. I would start by connecting the constant 12v and seeing if it works, then go from there.
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 26th, 2009, 10:39 AM
cabell's Avatar
cabell
Status: Offline
Cabell Crowther
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
Posts: 476
That is true Andrew, but I think the permanent feed is to keep the odometer reading only and shouldn't affect bulbs that handle the guage lighting.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 26th, 2009, 10:41 AM
FlaD90's Avatar
FlaD90
Status: Offline
Tom
1994 ST D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl, USA
Posts: 525
I did not think about connecting the constant source, but a great idea...eventually it would need connecting anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 26th, 2009, 10:48 AM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Well, my thinking is that VDO may use the constant to power the bulbs, and just use the illum. lead to trigger a relay or something similar inside. Sort of like how radio's don't get their power from the ignition lead, but from the constant and the ign. lead just tells it when to turn on.
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
speedo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VDO SPeedo roverboy Defender Technical Discussions 69 March 1st, 2015 10:35 AM
4.6 install will it work ron Defender Technical Discussions 16 February 7th, 2008 10:16 AM
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
Hitch/ pull point install question JKM Defender Technical Discussions 3 May 18th, 2004 08:39 AM
VDO speedo for sale vlocci For Sale - Parts 3 May 2nd, 2004 12:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Copyright