New Defender 110 Pickup - Few questions... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old January 6th, 2017, 10:32 PM
Logic2
Michael Nelson
1989 Defender 110 Pickup

Registry
New Defender 110 Pickup - Few questions...

Hello,
New to the forum - I made an intro in the welcome section but thought I'd post up a couple of photos of the truck recently acquired. I'm new to Land Rovers but not necessarily new to off-road vehicles. I've restored a few Toyota FJ40s and currently have an old FJ55 (Iron Pig) but this is my first Land Rover and also first British Truck.

I'd appreciate any information you guys can give me on my truck.

I just ordered an owners manual as well as a service manual and I'm going through every inch of the truck, a little but every day.

Details:
1989 Land Rover Defender 110
Diesel (size / displacement is unknown at this time)
5 Speed
Right-Hand Drive
Just imported -

Mechanics:
Starts Easy
Runs Great
Drives & Brakes Great
---No "known" mechanical issues...

Minor issues that I am currently working on:

1.) Left Hand (Passenger Side) Tail Light (AND) Parking Light do not work.
I checked the fuses and they all check to be good.
Head Lights both work
Right-Hand (Driver Side) Lights all work.

2.) Heater and blower motor work, blower works great, just does not seem to blow very HOT.
----> Update<----
I just found a thread that suggests this is a common problem with several suggested fixes. I may go ahead and upgrade the blower motor with a GM blower motor which apparently a drop in (fit).

3.) It currently has a (single-cab) hard top but I'd like to know if it's possible to convert it to a full hardtop that covers the entire cab and bed area. If that's not possible, then I'd consider a soft top.

4.) I'm not familiar with the wheels on this rig, they may be OEM / Original but I may consider upgrading them to something nicer.