Need Suspension Ideas - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old January 21st, 2012, 08:27 AM
Keebler
Kenneth Elliott
1994 D90 AA yellow (NAS)

Registry
Need Suspension Ideas

I am new to the Defender scene. My suspension is shot. I am looking to upgrade.
I was thinking about a 2-4 lift and setting up some new geometry. I have read things and seen alot about
"Safari Gard" yet I can not find what they are offering.
I have called ECR. However, the nice lady who answers the phone was less than helpful.

So Please, can someone point me in the right direction?

I have built a Jeep TJ W/ 5.7 HEMI 6spd manuel trans, 4.5 Rubicon express lift, King coil overs and custom dana 60's all around. In my garage.

Im not looking to go as Extreme with the Defender as i had with the Jeep. Though i do wish to do it right the first time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 21st, 2012, 08:53 AM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

SafariGard is out of business.

Check out www.rovertym.com. Their progressive springs are excellent, they also have nice control arms and trailing arms.

Also check out www.rockware.net

Old January 21st, 2012, 09:43 AM
o2batsea
Bill Adams
66 109 sw 94 lwb

Registry
Do you mean by "shot" that it needs all the ball joints and bushings replaced as well as shocks and springs? I would install a full set of polyurethane bushings (they come in several flavors of stiff) all new ball joints and go with no more than a 2 inch lift spring. For shocks you'll want a gas charged shock such as Bilstein. Don't forget the steering damper.
This will tighten up the suspension quite a lot. While you are at it be sure that the rest of the suspension such as the swivel ball preload and the prop shaft u joints are in good shape.
In general you don't need a high lift on the Defender unless your off-roading truly demands it.

1966 109 5 door wagon 300Tdi "spermaceti fueled"