Need some purchase help - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old January 2nd, 2010, 05:43 PM
RickM
Rick Mabus
95 D-90 ST

Need some purchase help

Alright folks. I realize this is a d-90 forum and I am here because I do own a d-90. That being said I am basically in agreement to purchase a discovery for my wife that is in another city. The truck has low miles and sounds like it has been maintained adaquately. Here is my question. I am a novice mechanic but I am learning and am not afraid to look around and engine and sniff out stuff. I will not have access to a computer to plug into the truck and look for trouble codes. I know how a clean vehicle should drive and I know how to look for body work. That being said is there something specific inside the engine to look at and see if I am buying a truck with a problematic future for us? Any seals, Joints or hoses I should be extra carefull to check out? Thanks for the help in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 2nd, 2010, 06:51 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

Have someone from here, in that city check it out for you.

Then take it to a shop and have it inspected and put on a computer. This will also give you bargaining room with the seller.

People have removed bulbs from the three amigos on discos. (ABS, Check eng and one other).

If you do it yourself, just be thorough and don't forget about looking for rust.

Old January 2nd, 2010, 07:33 PM
RickM
Rick Mabus
95 D-90 ST

Anyone have a good experience with an extended warranty group they would recommend? Thanks for the rust warning.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 2nd, 2010, 08:33 PM
rover4x4
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500

Registry
what year how many miles how many owners?
Old January 2nd, 2010, 08:44 PM
rmuller
Ryan
1966 S2a 88" | 2006 LR3

Yeah.. need more info on what year, and what not..