Need help with heater blower motor! - Page 2 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old October 12th, 2007, 08:16 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
The switch switches ground. So keep this in mind if you are using a test light. Connect the light to "+" and probe the swtich for ground. It may only be working on high. Since high is not really very strong anyway.

Good Luck
JP
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #22  
Old October 12th, 2007, 10:02 PM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Now I'm confused...I read that it switched the ground also, but he said that the wires were only hot when the switch was on low or high respectively. Am I missing something?
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 14th, 2007, 07:59 PM
Firefighter2904's Avatar
Firefighter2904
Status: Offline
jason
97 d-90
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 124
OK pendy now you have me confused with your info.


I do know the difference between high and low, and trust me this is low. High in my truck was actually quite nice.


I have tried everything from cleaning contacts, contact cleaner, all wires are intact. test lighted all of them and there is power where it is suppose to be.

I still dont really have a way per say to test the switch, and based on what I have heard here, it dosnt sound like the switch is the problem.

any one have any suggestions other than spending 60 bucks for a new switch to see if thats the problem ?


Jason
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #24  
Old October 14th, 2007, 08:10 PM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Well, if you've got the correct voltage/ground readings at all the wires with the switch in the corresponding spots, then you must have either a bad connection at/in the motor itself, or just a bad motor. I am not familiar with the system in your vehicle, so I can't say how hard it is to get to, but I am beginning to think, from your descriptions, that the next step is to remove it and bench test it.
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 14th, 2007, 08:27 PM
Firefighter2904's Avatar
Firefighter2904
Status: Offline
jason
97 d-90
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 124
I was afraid that that was the next step.


It is not a step that I wanted to do ! removing hood, and ripping out some stuff to get the heater out.

Its probably a fully days work if not more.

Thanx for the help.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old October 14th, 2007, 08:58 PM
artm
Status: Offline
Arthur Maravelis
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 985
Why don't you feed power directly to the motor connections - where the resistor is? That will bypass the switch entirely. If the motor works for both speeds here then the problem is the switch. If still only one speed works then the problem's in the motor.

If you must take the heater out it is a pain and there are a couple of tricks to make life easier. Search elsewhere for this info in depth - it's here.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old October 15th, 2007, 06:58 AM
jimmy salmon's Avatar
jimmy salmon
Status: Offline
jimmy salmon
94 D90 AA Yellow
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Methuen MA USA
Posts: 1,342
The one to really help you is Mike Hippert, he's in Manchester NH. He dosn't get here much lately (D90.com) but i could give him a call for you. You have live, so its either your motor or earth connection, theres not a lot can go wrong with the switch as its just an earth connector
__________________
3rd low and BOOT IT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:51 AM
artm
Status: Offline
Arthur Maravelis
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy salmon
..., theres not a lot can go wrong with the switch as its just an earth connector
Yeah, a crappy wiping switch. I've already had one fail. If you're adventurous you can replace it entirely with a simple rotary knob switch and even mount it in the same area - to the right side of that trim panel. There's plenty of room to still operate the vent handle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
heater, motor

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacement heater blower motor grnrvrs Defender Technical Discussions 4 March 5th, 2009 09:08 PM
97 AC blower motor - one or two? artm Defender Technical Discussions 0 March 3rd, 2009 02:25 PM
A/c blower motor Campbell Defender Technical Discussions 1 September 27th, 2004 08:19 AM
A/C blower motor Campbell Defender Technical Discussions 3 September 9th, 2004 11:01 AM
heater motor lubricant ??? artm Defender Technical Discussions 1 October 18th, 2003 04:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Copyright