Need a little help! No get up and go. - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old July 3rd, 2008, 06:52 AM
roverrookie
John Forster
94 D90

Unhappy Need a little help! No get up and go.

Well, I finally have my 94 Black D90 on the road again after about 6k in mechanical repairs last year after buying it from a friend who never did a thing to it in 6 years. I was driving home last night and getting going in 2nd gear and it sputtered a bit getting going. Didn't notice it again until this AM going to work. It seems like when I hit the gas it doesn't want to go. Especially when I get into the high end of a gear, it just wont get going. It's very sluggish and sputters a bit, with very little acceleration. Does it sound like the tranny? I'm a golf pro so I trade golf advice if it will help I have been taking it to Land Rover Huntington (Long Island), but I do not have much trust in them not ripping me off. I just want to hear what it might be before I take it in somewhere. Any LI guys with mechanics they like? BTW I spent about two hours checking the site threads to not be redundant here, sorry if I missed something.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 3rd, 2008, 08:09 AM
JimC
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team

Registry
Other than making sure all the air intake hoses are seated and tight, the next and cheapest thing you should should look at is the fuel filter. Its right up under the passenger side on the chassis rail, and you should be able to easily see if its been changed (i.e. shiny and new vs. old and cruddy). If the fittings are rusted you can cut the hoses and use a BMW filter that has hose barbs on it instead of screw-type fittings.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.