NAS 110 temp gauge update to remove signal conditioner - Page 3 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old August 12th, 2010, 05:34 PM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris snell View Post
Barry, if you go with the VDO temp gauge, go with VDO tach, fuel, and speedo as well. The lighting does not match and your cluster will look like shit if you don''t. Worse than carpet in a ST.
Ha!!! Well I went back and forth on what to do with the gauge. I wanted to keep it genuine but it was 50 for the gauge and sender or 200 for the genuine. I have seen the VDO in a couple trucks (pics) and it looks good. I know it is going to light up different but I will live with it. At least the brand is the same as the other gauges. I don't think I could mentally swallow changing the other gauges especially the speedometer/odometer. I mean I still want to sell the truck so I know if I was looking I would never want one with a changed odometer.

Carpet does suck bad in a ST.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #42  
Old August 12th, 2010, 06:31 PM
chris snell's Avatar
chris snell
Status: Offline
Chris Snell
87 Ex-MOD 110
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,439
I like the VDO and other than the white backlighting, it looks close enough to stock for me. It's definitely more useful with the actual temperature readings.

I will replace my speedometer eventually. The truck hasn't been stock for some time.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old August 12th, 2010, 06:35 PM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
Hey I am a big fan of customization I just like factory crap. The gauge though will be nice. My engine was rebuilt and I recorred the radiator but something tells me the gauge reading at 1/3 all the time is bullshit
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #44  
Old August 12th, 2010, 11:13 PM
97-D90-736
Status: Offline
Nick Vogel
1997 D-90 / 2012 LR4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 508
Which trucks have the signal conditioner?

I already have a VDO Oil and Volt in my Iron Goat Dash, I think they look damn close to stock.

So would I just need to buy the guage and the sending unit?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old August 13th, 2010, 12:46 AM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
97 doesn't have the signal conditioner issue. Better off not changing it.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 12:57 AM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
Anyone who has done this in a 110. Couple things:
I assume you had to change the connectors on the light bulb to hook it up.
When you removed the signal conditioner did you have to change the connectors?
Which wire is positive and which is negative
What method did you use to wire the ground

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old September 3rd, 2010, 11:51 PM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
http://www.flickr.com/photos/barryrides/4956107548/

wow the old gauges do look like shit
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old September 3rd, 2010, 11:58 PM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjf
http://www.flickr.com/photos/barryrides/4956107548/

wow the old gauges do look like shit
Did you upgrade bulbs?
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old September 4th, 2010, 12:00 AM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
On the old gauges? No

Should I? Would they match then? What do I get?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old September 4th, 2010, 02:23 PM
Neil McCauley's Avatar
Neil McCauley
Status: Offline
Neil McCauley
94 ST, 97 ST, 93 110
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,366
man I've been avoiding this mod on my 110, I figure I don't have any overheating issues yet (hope I don't) cuz I bleed it and fill it right but I guess its now on my to do list.
__________________
A guy told me one time "don't let yourself get attached to anything you are not willing to walk out on in 30 seconds flat if you feel the heat from around the corner"

Robert Deniro
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old September 4th, 2010, 05:42 PM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,958
I thought you did the gauge on yours already
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
110, nas, nas 110, signal

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS 110 Rear Bumper Reefminis Wanted 3 October 2nd, 2006 04:54 PM
Air Conditioner Vents on NAS 110 - How to hold direction of flow? COSteve Defender Technical Discussions 5 July 15th, 2004 11:11 AM
OD of NAS 110 cage needed dnewman9 Defender Technical Discussions 1 July 4th, 2004 01:24 AM
Temp Gauge dbwitt Defender Technical Discussions 5 March 18th, 2004 08:14 PM
Temp gauge on H perminently ron Defender Technical Discussions 1 December 8th, 2003 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Copyright