My Flexalite 210 install - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2005, 11:27 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
My Flexalite 210 install

I couldn't see how to attach pics to a PM to Mike H., so I thought I'd post them here. My flex-a-lite 210 install..

charles
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00680s.JPG
Views:	448
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	3018   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00681s.JPG
Views:	392
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	3019  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00682s.JPG
Views:	471
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	3020   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00683s.JPG
Views:	481
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	3021  

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2005, 06:45 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Nice job! Looks much better then mine. You did say something about wiring have you see this?

http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...achmentid=2701

I made it a little while ago to help out with wiring details.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 20th, 2005, 07:08 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Thanks Mike! Last night I had dug up

http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...achmentid=1600

from

http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...4&page=2&pp=15

But it did leave a few questions. This one is much clearer, thanks!

Wanna throw me a bone and suggest where to add a thermostat switch in this?

Now if only I had thought to do this before putting my dash back in and closing up the firewall

charles
P.S. I have plenty of aluminum angle left over if you need it
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old April 20th, 2005, 07:19 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
LOL thats Ok I can get it real cheap up here (read FREE )

So you want to use their T-stat thingy, I used it for a month or so, then the wires started breasking off of the unit, and I realy didn't like how the thermo wire had to go in through the uper radiator hose either. So I took it out and wired it up like I have in the diagram.

But if you want to use it I would bolt it behind the drivers side headlight so the thermo thingy can reach the upper radiator hose. I can re do the wiring diagram so that it fits in their also if ya want.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 20th, 2005, 07:28 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
No, I want to replace my A/C thermostat with the VW fan switch (Beck/Arnley 201-0809) if I can get it today.


thanks
charles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2005, 08:58 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Ahh, I shell modify the diagram with that

Follow-up Post:

New Diagram!
Attached Files
File Type: zip wiring e-fans with T-stat.zip (29.4 KB, 190 views)
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 20th, 2005, 10:12 AM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
Charles, very nice install. Anybody out there wire their fans up this way on a 97 with A/C? This is going to be my next project.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 20th, 2005, 10:20 AM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
I did with AC a year ago. Works just fine.

Doug W.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 20th, 2005, 10:40 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Thanks Mike

But doesn't this mean that I can't force the fans on if the thermostat says the engine is cool?

Ideally I am looking to be able to override it - both stop it running and force it to run, and well as let it run automatically by temperature for normal use. Maybe I'm asking to much, or there is no need? Still too knee deep in work to think about this...

charles
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 20th, 2005, 10:49 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Easy enough, you just need a 2 pole switch. Wire the midle pole to 12 volts and the other 2 go to either the T-stat or the relays
Attached Files
File Type: zip wiring e-fans with T-stat 2 pole.zip (32.0 KB, 165 views)
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 20th, 2005, 11:03 AM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug
I did with AC a year ago. Works just fine.

Doug W.
Did you hook up the thermostat thru the upper hose?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 20th, 2005, 11:08 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Cool (and even makes sense )

So middle would be off, one side would be on/auto and the other on/forced right?

I'm getting excited just thinking about tearing apart my truck again!

Gonna ask for VDOs for my birthday

charles
p.s. You know your going to have to add this stuff to the mods section of the site don't you?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 20th, 2005, 12:00 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
You are right on about the switch. And allot of stuff needs to be added to the custom mods section or the FAQ, we just need to get all moved over to the new server and stuff and get all are ducks in a row to make it work.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 20th, 2005, 12:08 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
Dave, yes, the temp bulb is tucked into the upper hose at the radiator. Comes on at about 175 degrees. I also wired in a three position switch -- always on, always off, or regulated by the thermostat.

Doug W.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 20th, 2005, 12:11 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Yeah, I'm throwing a few extra beers in the cooler so we can chat with Chris about it this weekend. Any preference? I owe you a case of the good stuff

Hoping to make time for the wiring this afternoon. need to at least get it running and put a few miles on here before the drive to Rausch.

charles
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 20th, 2005, 12:29 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
I don't drink , but I still want to chat
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 25th, 2005, 01:15 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Just wanted to close out this thread with a couple points that might not be obvious to everyone.

In Mike's diagrams, the 15A fuses he shows are connected to power at all times. You need to wire these to something that provides soem serious juice, like the the main fuse bus under the hood, or to the alternater.

The switches can be wired to either be powered all the time, or only when the ignition is on. I chose to only have them powered when the ignition is on so that I can leave them in the switched/on position and never have to worry about forgetting to turn them on.

The only change I plan to make to mine is to get a 3 pole switch and change the "off" postion to actually light an idiot light in the dash, so when I do turn them off for a water crossing, i have a reminder to turn them back on again.

charles
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 27th, 2005, 11:11 AM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
Is everybody pulling out the radiator for the install or has anybody used those zip thingies that go thru the radiator?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 27th, 2005, 11:22 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,624
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by javelinadave
Is everybody pulling out the radiator for the install or has anybody used those zip thingies that go thru the radiator?
Neither

You can do the install without removing the radiator, and not using the plastic ties.

Put a piece of 2x4 under the bottom tabs of the radiator and bend/beat them flat. Then rivet a piece of 1x1 aluminum angle to the bottom. Use a 2x2 aluminum angle to make the top mount.

hth
charles
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 27th, 2005, 11:28 AM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
Cool......Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
flex

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flexalite 210 Fan Setup with Mounting Bracket TDI Guy For Sale - Parts 8 December 4th, 2008 08:00 PM
4.6 install will it work ron Defender Technical Discussions 16 February 7th, 2008 10:16 AM
'97 D90 radio install help Defender50th Defender Technical Discussions 0 October 18th, 2005 03:19 PM
vdo water gauge install and 210 fan info Davis Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 24th, 2005 11:47 PM
Bench seat install in '97 hartop timcd90 Defender Technical Discussions 1 February 15th, 2005 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Copyright