My First Defender Questions - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old September 4th, 2013, 10:38 AM
IvanKV
Ivan
'89 110 County - 200TDi

Registry
My First Defender Questions

Hey everyone!
I am looking at getting my first Defender, and tbh my first GreenOval. I am currently looking at two D90s and one 110, all of which are equipped with the 2.5TD.
I am a college student and the only money I have is in my 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser M/T, which I am selling to fund a Defender purchase. Being a college student with a job that requires quite a bit of driving I am very concerned with reliability; this will be my only car and it needs to work, at least until I can afford a 200/300TDi swap(at least 1 year of savings).
I am seen on multiple websites and forums that the 2.5TD is a horrid engine.

So my question(s) to ya'll are;

Is this true, the 2.5TD is hell?

Worth getting, and will it last the 1+ years until I can put a new engine?

What is acceptable mileage on these? One of the D90's mileage is 164k, the other is 140,741 with an engine rebuild 20k miles ago.(not sure of the mileage of the 110)

P.S. My 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser 6-speed M/T and 50k miles is for sale if anyone is interested or knows somebody that is!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 4th, 2013, 10:46 AM
SMac
Sam
NAS 97 D90 SW

No technical advice from me, but:

College + Job + Limited Funds + Current Reliable Vehicle + Lots of Driving = Don't buy Defender

Sincerely,

Common Sense
Old September 4th, 2013, 10:50 AM
CMSgt Bo
Bo
1985 One Ten

I would stick with the Toyota until after graduation. My Defender is a hobby car and requires a lot of TLC (read money) to keep it as the daily driver it is (I have two new cars as back-ups). Wait until you have a fair amount of disposable cash to dip your foot into the Rover pond.

My mechanic told me, "I couldn't repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder."