Mounting inward facing benches - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old March 24th, 2010, 03:21 PM
rustydanna
Rusty D'Anna
1994 Defender 90

Mounting inward facing benches

I just bought a '94 Defender 90 and am new to this site. As such, I have an almost embarassing question. My truck came with a single jumpseat in the back and I am going to replace it with a bench on each side. ** Stupid question alert** - is it as simple as it seems to mount the benches? Just bolt to the bottom and side? Reason I ask is that I dont want to mount to the wrong spot and either damage the truck, or worse, make them unsafe. Any suggestions (including telling me to stop overthinking it and just mount the damn things!) are welcome and appreciated. Thanks a lot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 24th, 2010, 03:25 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

What part of town are you in? I can help you one day. Plus, it would be nice to get another 90 in our LR Club.

Old March 24th, 2010, 03:30 PM
grnrvrs
Paul

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustydanna View Post
Reason I ask is that I dont want to ... make them unsafe.

IMO you're nuts to think about using inward facing seats. They are a hazard for any passenger at any speed above a crawl. Be smart and use the forward facing bench or alternatively get one of the forward facing seats that mount on either wheel well, not the inward facing bench seats.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 24th, 2010, 04:00 PM
rustydanna
Rusty D'Anna
1994 Defender 90

I'm in Buckhead/Brookhaven
Old March 24th, 2010, 04:11 PM
bharris
Brad Harris
1994 d90 300tdi "Nola"

Quote:
Originally Posted by grnrvrs View Post