Mounting GPS Unit - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old September 7th, 2004, 03:46 PM
Dfndr90's Avatar
Dfndr90
Status: Offline
Matt Wunderle
1995 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Grandview Hts, Ohio
Posts: 219
Mounting GPS Unit

I have a Garmin Etrax and am looking fo a cool way to mount it close to the Speedometer or high on the dash board so I dont have to take my eyes of the road/trail to look at it. Does anyone have any ideas or pics of what they have done.

Matt...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old September 7th, 2004, 03:52 PM
loykd's Avatar
loykd
Status: Offline
Ken Loy
1994 Portofino Red ST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 897
Matt, I use something similar to this for my StreetPilot:

http://www.gpsdiscount.com/products/index.html?a=244

Adhesive tape (included) attaches it to the dash and it's been pretty sturdy so far.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 7th, 2004, 05:03 PM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
I used velcro with an adhesive back from Home Depot. The glue is plenty strong and clean, new velcro is rated for 8 lbs per square inch. (No I am not a velcro geek, I just remembered that stupid fact from some engineering class)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old September 7th, 2004, 05:09 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
http://members.shaw.ca/red90/gpsmount.JPG

I use the Garmin automotive mount. Can have the GPS low like the photo or high up above the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 7th, 2004, 06:08 PM
loykd's Avatar
loykd
Status: Offline
Ken Loy
1994 Portofino Red ST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 897
John, what's that control box for (that fits where the AC controls would be)? Is that for nitrous???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 7th, 2004, 06:40 PM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
His 90 is ex-MoD so that is the convoy light/headlamp control switch. I had a similar setup in my '73 109 ex-MoD GS.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 7th, 2004, 07:07 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
That's it, convoy switch.

Currently, it looks like this: http://members.shaw.ca/red90/dash.JPG with an indoor/outdoor thermometer / voltage guage combo and a couple o' switches.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 8th, 2004, 09:29 AM
loykd's Avatar
loykd
Status: Offline
Ken Loy
1994 Portofino Red ST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 897
ahhhh, very cool. just an idle question, but could that panel fit in an NAS?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
gps, mount

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin 60cs GPS Unit Baldewin For Sale - Parts 1 November 14th, 2006 10:56 PM
Help.... acess to flasher unit Defender50th Defender Technical Discussions 2 July 18th, 2005 04:57 PM
A/C unit for '94 Defender jracenstein Wanted 0 March 18th, 2004 01:39 PM
Garmin V GPS For Sale DJ Menasco For Sale - Parts 1 January 2nd, 2004 06:00 PM
GPS Mount in D90 Soft Top ronward Misc. Chit-Chat 5 October 16th, 2003 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Copyright