Locking diffs - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old June 26th, 2009, 06:13 PM
Defenderbuser
Chuck Duncan
1994 D90 Softop

Locking diffs

I'm sure this has been hashed out a million times, but having trouble finding the search feature. Looking to put locking diffs in my ride soon; looking for opinions w/ reasons. Only choice I see is ARB or Detroit Locker. This truck is, and always has been, a daily driver.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 26th, 2009, 07:42 PM
redrockrover
Russell Phillips
1994 Defender 90

If it is a daily driver then do the ARB's. Less wear and tear on your driveline and tires. I have had ARB's in my ride for over 10 years now and love them. Detroits are good but if you are using it as a daily driver I would only do a detroit in the rear and not the front. With Detroits there will be some handling issues. You can adapt and still daily drive it, but then it becomes a vehicle that I would not feel comfortable letting my wife drive. With the ARB's unlocked you do not even know they are there.

The other nice thing about ARB's is you can go out wheeling and improve your driving skills while leaving your lockers off, and only turn them on when you need them. Hope this helps, this is only my opinion.

'94 AA Yellow
# 891
Old June 26th, 2009, 08:15 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

Spend the extra money and get the ARB's... They are the best of both worlds, excellent handling on and off the road. When you use your truck on the trail you will be able to attempt an obstacle on skill alone, if that is not enough, lock it up and walk out.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 26th, 2009, 08:35 PM
Defenderbuser
Chuck Duncan
1994 D90 Softop

I've had the truck for about ten years and that has been my thinking all along. I'm finally about to take the plunge and figured I'd get some opinions to give me the warm and fuzzy.