Just did an engine swap and now wont run... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:42 PM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
Just did an engine swap and now wont run...

I just installed a rebuilt 3.9L motor this weekend. I have everything hooked up the way it was when it came out. I cant get the new motor to turn over and I cant get it to build up oil pressure. we vented air out the upper oil cooler line and filled it with oil to try try to prime the system. I have fuel and spark to the plugs and the timing is set to as close to TDC as we could get it with it cranking. We did a compression test and it is putting out good compression.

it did fire up twice after a long crank, but idled very poorly. Now nothing.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:47 PM
landrovered's Avatar
landrovered
Status: Offline
S. Smith
72 Series III 109 Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under my truck!
Posts: 753
The manual suggest packing the oil pump with vasoline to prime.

As for the non start rough idle... Is your maf sensor plugged in properly?, fuel pressure in rail? Getting spark? Timing? check all the usual suspects.
__________________
72 Series III 109 SW Diesel, 03 RR, 98 Porsche 986, 01 Porsche 986 3.6 L
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:50 PM
Abrooks's Avatar
Abrooks
Status: Offline
Tony Brooks
.
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,926
I had the same issue once when I managed to set the timing 180 degrees off. Might be worth checking.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:54 PM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abrooks
I had the same issue once when I managed to set the timing 180 degrees off. Might be worth checking.
we already did that and it was 180 degress off. it started twice after we switched it around.

Ryan

Follow-up Post:

is there a fail safe that prevents the motor from running when there is no oil pressure?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:26 PM
btate
Status: Offline
Bryan Tate
d90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 479
just to clarify. It is not turning over now?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:51 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
No the truck will continue to run w/o oil pressure until it kills itself and blows up.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:41 PM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by btate
just to clarify. It is not turning over now?
yes, as of right now, it wont turn over. when it is cranking, it sounds like it wants to turn over.

Follow-up Post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by landrovered
The manual suggest packing the oil pump with vasoline to prime.

As for the non start rough idle... Is your maf sensor plugged in properly?, fuel pressure in rail? Getting spark? Timing? check all the usual suspects.
everything appears to be hooked up properly. We labeled everything as we unhooked it, and it was only a week from when we pulled the old moter, and installed the newer one. We are getting plenty of fuel through the fuel rail. a couple leaky injectors was noticed so new O rings got installed. we have plenty of spark to the plugs. this morning we did a compression test and that checked out OK. We have triple checked are double check on the timing. We set it as close as we could when it we were cranking on it. and when it did fire up the , (in the 20 seconds that it ran) we checked it again. We are close enough to TDC to where it should be starting up. We were getting an arc across the terminals on the ignition coil, so a new one was installed.

That is pretty much up to date of where we are and everything that we have done. I didn't have much time to look at it today after my posts, but tomorrow I have open to spend some time with it.

Thanks again for everyones input on the subject.

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:12 PM
Roadsiderob's Avatar
Roadsiderob
Status: Offline
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 994
Cam Timing off, perhaps?
__________________
Rob Dassler
SWR Automotive
505-872-7818 (shop)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:28 PM
Hoosier's Avatar
Hoosier
Status: Offline
Chris Hinkle
More than I need
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 634
Inertia switch? Spark plug wires hooked up correctly? Ground wires? Basically everything you unhooked needs to be rechecked
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 09:18 AM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadsiderob
Cam Timing off, perhaps?
when we put the cam and timing chain in, we alligned the pointer on the crank gear, with the mark on the cam gear.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 11:05 AM
Roadsiderob's Avatar
Roadsiderob
Status: Offline
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 994
Did you use a stock timing set with one keyway or the aftermarket adjustable type with 3 keyways? I'll admit to misreading the marks on the adjustable type once and ending up with a rebuilt engine that wouldn't start....
__________________
Rob Dassler
SWR Automotive
505-872-7818 (shop)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 11:40 AM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadsiderob
Did you use a stock timing set with one keyway or the aftermarket adjustable type with 3 keyways? I'll admit to misreading the marks on the adjustable type once and ending up with a rebuilt engine that wouldn't start....
I put in the stock timing set with only one keyway. its a new timing chain and new gears. All the new parts matched up just like the old ones. the compression test read 130 out of the cylinders. I could be wrong but I dont think it would build up that much compression is the cam timing was off.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 03:03 PM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
just wondering if there is anyone in the littleton area that might be able to come take a look and help diagnose the problem. Santa Fe and Belleview to be exact. Both my mechanic friends are getting a little frustated with why it wont start. My fridge is stocked with beer if anyone wants to hang out and try to help get my rig back on the road.

Cheers,
Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 03:25 PM
btate
Status: Offline
Bryan Tate
d90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 479
Just a thought, make sure the distributor is connected correctly. One of the 4.6's we did this summer, we thought we had a bad distributor. When we looked closer we had connected it backwards.
I guess they were only "idiot resistant' vs "idiot proof"
Probably not your problem, but hated not to mention it....
And you did try the inertia switch?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 05:58 PM
RyanB16's Avatar
RyanB16
Status: Offline
Ryan Hoffmeyer
94 D90 Red HalfCab #741
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 127
yep, finally got her running. all that diagnosing and it turned out to be a simple fix. we failed to adjust the gap in the spark plugs. It was about half of the recommendations from whats in my defender manual. once adjusted, fired right up and idles on its own now.

I am just glad it was an inexpensive fix. Thanks for everyones input the subject.

First round is on me!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:02 AM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
Hey glad to hear you got it up and running. Where did you get your 3.9 from? While my engine is running solid right now it can't be for too much longer.

B
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:29 AM
landrovered's Avatar
landrovered
Status: Offline
S. Smith
72 Series III 109 Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under my truck!
Posts: 753
I had a similar experience after a valve job. It started but ran like crap. When I pulled the plugs they were not gapped properly. I was embarrased that I had not checked them before I put them in. Oh well that will never happen again. Lesson learned.
__________________
72 Series III 109 SW Diesel, 03 RR, 98 Porsche 986, 01 Porsche 986 3.6 L
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
engine

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Copyright