Is this sound normal? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 22nd, 2011, 05:31 AM
Bajavet
Mike Copenhaver
'94 D90 ST

Is this sound normal?

I'm brand new to D90's. I just picked up my new to me D90 last weekend. I drove it home about 300 miles and it did great. I noticed a slight vibration that felt like it was coming from the rear of the drive line. It occured only at highway speeds of 65 to 75 mph when decelerating. It only ocurred imediately when taking foot off of acclerator and lasted only a very brief time. I just had a 2" lift installed. I did not drive it at these speeds prior to the lift so I cannot compare to pre lift.
Is this a normal D90 noise or could it be a sign of u joint or other driveline issue?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 22nd, 2011, 06:50 AM
HeloBubba
Chris Murphy
'89 127 (D130), '16 LR4

Hi Mike-

I had the exact same issues after lifting my 97, only I had lifted it a bit more (RTE 3" which was more like 4"). Usually 2" doesn't screw stuff up, but each truck is a little different.

The lift and resultant driveline geometry changes brought up two issues for me, either of which might be your problem:

1. (Most likely) - The stock cv joint driveshaft is banging at the extremes of it's joint articulation when you release the throttle load and the truck's weight shifts forward a bit. - I fixed this by correcting rear driveline angle using modified trailing arms (and caster-correcting radius arms for the front, too, along with a front double cardon driveshaft)

2. My diffs were starting to go, and the change exacerbated the gear lash "feeling".

I wrote about this stuff in one of my old posts.

Good luck
Murph
'89 D110SW
'16 LR4

Former:
'97 D90SW - SOLD SEP '14
'94 D90ST - SOLD MAY '13
D90s sold while assigned overseas. You're welcome America!
'06 Range Rover Sport Supercharged
'8X FankenRover D100