Installing Jump Seats - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 16th, 2006, 04:31 PM
johnnyg15
John Gorman
97 BRG Defender 90

Installing Jump Seats

Hi,

I just took the back seat out of my 97 D90 ST. I ordered 4 new Jump Seats from Exmoor in the UK and plan on installing them. They look pretty easy to install, although I have never done it before. Anybody know how difficult it is? If it is too difficult, then does anyone know someone who can put them in? I'm pretty sure the Dealers won't install them. Any tips are appreciated.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 16th, 2006, 04:51 PM
saber6
gh
97 D90 SW

John:
Super easy, a 1 on a 5 scale. I've taken mine out and then in and then out again. I would use SS hardware, looks better. gh
Old May 16th, 2006, 04:55 PM
Captain Spalding
Captain Spalding

Just set them where you want, make your marks, and start drilling. If the Exmmor kit doesn't come with hardware, post a message and I'll spec what my factory installed jump seats are bolted down with.

What are you doing for seat belts?

Follow-up Post:

GH, you beat me to the punch. Ditto on the stainless, but make sure you use properly graded hardware on the restraints.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 16th, 2006, 05:07 PM
ECR
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor

Stainless yes, but make sure you isolate it from the alloy of the tub. The alloy and the stainless react very badly and long term will cause nasty corrosion holes (especially in the wheel wells where they get wet a lot).

Take a look at the side of an old NAS 1971-1974 Series III. These had steel seat belt brackets against the alloy and in a few short years they ate right through the tub sides (corrosion).

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Old May 16th, 2006, 05:53 PM