Installing Extra temp. gauge - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 1st, 2010, 01:48 PM
Campbell's Avatar
Campbell
Status: Offline
Rich Campbell
06 LR3 01DII D90s sold
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,512
Registry
Installing Extra temp. gauge

Hey,
I have a 97SW and my temp gauge shots up when I run most of the power items....lights, a/c and heat. As soon as I turn them on it jumps to 3/4. I can't seem to figure it out but I know it isn't running hot. So I was thinking about installing a second one in the truck. Maybe digital. Has anyone done this and can you tell me how?

Thanks
Rich
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 1st, 2010, 02:55 PM
ini88's Avatar
ini88
Status: Offline
Daniel Marcello
Alloy+Grit Creative Director
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,816
I tried this too because I thought other things were effecting my temp gauge. If you do this you can only run one gauge off the sending unit. I ran two wires from the sending unit to the two separate gauges and it split the negative ground so both gauges read half of the real temp. You me just want to run a new gauge and hot wire it to a direct + line to see the true temp.
__________________
1955 Series I
1975 FC101 Vampire
1994 Defender 90 #916
1967 Lancia Fulvia
1974 Alfa Romeo GTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 1st, 2010, 03:38 PM
Campbell's Avatar
Campbell
Status: Offline
Rich Campbell
06 LR3 01DII D90s sold
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,512
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ini88 View Post
I tried this too because I thought other things were effecting my temp gauge. If you do this you can only run one gauge off the sending unit. I ran two wires from the sending unit to the two separate gauges and it split the negative ground so both gauges read half of the real temp. You me just want to run a new gauge and hot wire it to a direct + line to see the true temp.
Thanks,
I might have to do that. What are my gauge options.

Also, what if I just re-ran a new ground to the gauge. What would be a good source for that ground?

------ Follow up post added April 1st, 2010 07:47 PM ------

Does anyone know where the gauge is grounded?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diameter of stock temp gauge naeirie Defender Technical Discussions 2 March 2nd, 2005 06:34 PM
Temp gauge sender for '97? Chaucer Misc. Chit-Chat 6 February 24th, 2005 07:47 AM
Temp Gauge dbwitt Defender Technical Discussions 5 March 18th, 2004 08:14 PM
temp gauge ron Wanted 0 December 10th, 2003 12:44 PM
Temp gauge on H perminently ron Defender Technical Discussions 1 December 8th, 2003 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Copyright