Inner hub seal seating depth - Page 2 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old September 9th, 2009, 10:45 AM
jimmy salmon's Avatar
jimmy salmon
Status: Offline
jimmy salmon
94 D90 AA Yellow
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Methuen MA USA
Posts: 1,342
looking at the pictures, it looks like the wire is facing the bearing and on others it looks like its facing out, which is the right way
__________________
3rd low and BOOT IT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #22  
Old September 9th, 2009, 11:16 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,232
Registry
Wire facing bearing.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old September 9th, 2009, 12:15 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
They are springs and they keep the seal's lips tight against the running surfaces. There should be two of them on this type of seal. Kevin's first picture shows the seal going in the correct way although as stated it needs to go in much further.




Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy salmon
looking at the pictures, it looks like the wire is facing the bearing and on others it looks like its facing out, which is the right way
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #24  
Old September 11th, 2009, 01:30 PM
Gore Ranger's Avatar
Gore Ranger
Status: Offline
Jeff
1989 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 536
Hey guys,

I am almost done with my first brake job with a lot of help from the search function of this site. new rotors, calipers, and pads and then I need to bleed the brakes.

I do have one question: when I was removing one of the caliper mounting bolts I was shocked to find that it was really loose. I just chocked it up to the fact that maybe the shop I used for my toyota swap did not tighten the bolt to spec. However, when I went to reinstall the caliper with its two bolts, the same bolt in question tightens down flush but then when I go to torque it tight, it "clicks" and then gets loose again. I am guessing that the threads or something in the hub mount are stripped or something. Do I have any options besides a new hub? Do you think it would be possible to buy a tap and try to clean out the threads? Thanks in advance

I was also thinking that I could put a washer or two because it seems that if the threads or broken on the inside of the hub mount, then they are really far in there, and a washer or two might allow the bolt to torque down tight while avoiding the stripped threads altogether. Is that stupid? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old September 11th, 2009, 01:36 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
it sounds like the thread is stripped in the caliper mount. if so, that should be pretty easy to fix with a helicoil or similar thread repair device. in the meantime, compare the two bolts and make sure it isn't the bolt that is stripped.

FYI calipers don't bolt to the hubs. They bolt to the steering knuckle in the front and the axle housing on the rear axle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gore Ranger
the same bolt in question tightens down flush but then when I go to torque it tight, it "clicks" and then gets loose again. I am guessing that the threads or something in the hub mount are stripped or something. Do I have any options besides a new hub? Do you think it would be possible to buy a tap and try to clean out the threads? Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old September 11th, 2009, 01:40 PM
Gore Ranger's Avatar
Gore Ranger
Status: Offline
Jeff
1989 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 536
whoops, you're right: The caliper mount is in fact on the axle housing, not the hub. Do you think that home depot would have helicoil (I dont even know what that is!)

I do not think it is the bolt, but I am going to double check
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old September 11th, 2009, 02:41 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
jeff

no, HD won't have it. You'll need to know the size and thread pitch of the bolt and take it to a good auto parts store. Lately I've found advance auto has some. BtW they are metal inserts that replace the threads after you've drilled and tapped a larger threaded hole. You may need to buy a drill bit of the exact size called for by your particular helicoil kit also.

http://www.emhart.com/products/helicoil.asp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gore Ranger
whoops, you're right: The caliper mount is in fact on the axle housing, not the hub. Do you think that home depot would have helicoil (I dont even know what that is!)

I do not think it is the bolt, but I am going to double check
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old September 11th, 2009, 02:42 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
I don't think they will sell the kit to do them. Check to see what size it is and you can prob. get it at a good auto parts store or mcmaster carr
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old September 11th, 2009, 02:45 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Lots of blue loctite and check it after a few miles and a few hundred miles.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old September 11th, 2009, 05:56 PM
Gore Ranger's Avatar
Gore Ranger
Status: Offline
Jeff
1989 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 536
good news! It turned out to be the bolt. Now I need to track down 1 plus probably a spare or two.

However, I ran into another issue. It was not my intention to hijack the hub seal thread rtc3511 but I figure since I am already posting in this thread, might as well continue at it.

I decided to throw on the EE extended stainless steel brake line before I bleed the brakes. I ordered the male one because that is what it looked like my truck has. However, when I took the rear rubber line off, it looks like a male fitting but is shorter than the male fitting on the EE line (see attachment) It is only different on one side of the line, the other side is the same.

Is it ok to use this line and have half the threads sticking out? It appears that I need a male line to go into that brake junction thing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010004.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	21439   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010007.JPG
Views:	78
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	21440  

Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old September 11th, 2009, 06:27 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
jeff

it wouldn't hurt to clean up the the threads in the questionable hole by using a thread chaser tap or other tap. otherwise the new bolt might get munged up too.

you'll be fine on the flex hose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gore Ranger
good news! It turned out to be the bolt. Now I need to track down 1 plus probably a spare or two.
..........

Is it ok to use this line and have half the threads sticking out? It appears that I need a male line to go into that brake junction thing.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old September 11th, 2009, 07:08 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Longer is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old September 12th, 2009, 02:05 AM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
BTW... I noticed earlier in the thread there was mention of how to seat the seal.

Use the old bearing race (if you have one on hand) to seat the new seal. Tapping around the race works prefect.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front hub seal bjf Defender Technical Discussions 7 March 17th, 2009 01:01 AM
series front hub seal airbornrover Series Technical Discussions 1 November 12th, 2008 08:48 AM
93 NAS D-110 Diff oil and Hub Seal Questions AHollander Defender Technical Discussions 16 October 23rd, 2007 02:46 AM
Which direction to install rear outer hub seal? cgalpin Defender Technical Discussions 16 September 23rd, 2005 12:06 AM
Questions about replacing hub seals... discobro Defender Technical Discussions 5 June 5th, 2004 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Copyright