Inline fuel filter with diesel? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old January 9th, 2008, 09:23 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Inline fuel filter with diesel?

Heres a pic from an ECR project - they've used the V8 fuel lines and have an inline fuel filter in the stock position. I wonder what the effect of that is? Won't it have to be changed kinda often? I have to change the larger diesel one every few thousand miles.

Does Mike have an explanation?
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old January 9th, 2008, 10:24 AM
MonLand
Status: Offline
Loic Fabro
95 D90 - 96 Disco -06 LR3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA - USA
Posts: 1,642
Registry
Hi Jim, I think you forgot to attach the pic?
__________________
Quote:
I have an ex MoD and an ex wife. The two no longer conflict with each other.
Quote:
it is not hoarding it is selective collecting
---
MonLand
1995 D90 NAS
1996 Discovery NAS
2006 LR3 NAS (hers, but comfy! :) )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 9th, 2008, 10:39 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Not possible!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old January 9th, 2008, 12:13 PM
Shane@EVS
Status: Offline
Roverhybrids
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: RDG, CA, USA
Posts: 420
I can't say what ECR is doing but you can get a strainer to put in place of the factory gas filter, though the ones I have seen are just barbed and not the same fittings as the V8 version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 9th, 2008, 12:29 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Its not a filter.
Its a SS canister that looks like a filter so that we can use the same production CNC made SS fuel lines on both the gas and the diesel.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 9th, 2008, 12:31 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
At least you dont have to replace it.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 9th, 2008, 12:55 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
All well and good until someone takes it to a shop other than ECR and asks to have the fuel filter changed . . . .
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 9th, 2008, 01:05 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Guess that would be a pretty stupid mechanic considering it says "Not a filter, do not change" on it and the customer is made aware of what it is as well.

If you don't like it you are welcome to pay all the set up costs in order to make a new supply line just for the few NAS diesels out there. Oh yeah... then folks would complain that the stainless lines for the diesel costs to much.

Most Tdi conversions I have seen done by other places have a piece of rubber hose fitted in there and that will decay. At least this solution is a long term one, being all stainless.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 9th, 2008, 01:20 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Works for me, since it looks like a good place to splice in for a second fuel tank.

Mike - What do you do for stainless 110 brake lines?
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 9th, 2008, 01:22 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Same as the other lines. Classic Tube makes them for us, stainless lines with stainless fittings. Most other places offer stainless lines with standard steel fittings.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 9th, 2008, 04:16 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Do Not Change!
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 9th, 2008, 05:37 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
That's a good use of the stock fuel line with the diesel conversion. You could easily turn it into a pre-filter like what is fitted on many Mercedes diesels from the factory. See my post here about the pre-filter that I installed on my TDI Jetta: http://twowheelphotos.blogspot.com/2...re-filter.html

If there is a pre-filter, the purpose of it is simply to catch any large particles >150 microns before they get to the main filter, thus prolonging the life of the main filter. Mine has caught a few visible particles already, and in addition, it lets you see the state of your diesel fuel on those cold days!
__________________
Mom: "Boy, you got champagne taste on a beer budget."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 9th, 2008, 11:50 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
This is how I do it. Hydraulic hose to the steel line and a Racor

JP
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2nd disc 067.JPG
Views:	171
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	11605  
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 9th, 2008, 11:59 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
So that's your main filter then isn't it pendy? I know Jetta TDI's have a fuel return line going back to the main filter to dump the excess fuel. Does this engine not require that? Or does it return somewhere closer to the injection pump?

Very clean install BTW
__________________
Mom: "Boy, you got champagne taste on a beer budget."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 10th, 2008, 12:50 AM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Yeah main. Returns to tank by design. Thanks
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 10th, 2008, 08:14 AM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
This is how I do it. Hydraulic hose to the steel line and a Racor

JP

Thanks cool, but it wouldn't last one New England winter in that location.
The factory Tdis had a filter in that location and on the "grey market" imports we work on and you wouldn't believe how often we have to change the stuff back there from dirt, snow, ice and salt eating it.
We use the factory filter in the factory fender mount location. Racors do filter better, used to use them on boats.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 10th, 2008, 09:22 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
And the Racor's have the option of adding/replacing the see through bowl with a bowl that has an integrated heating element for extreme cold weather!

Pendy installed mine and no issues so far, plus it's easy to get to. I understand Mikes concern as well, however not an issue in North Carolina. No rust from the hydraulic lines that Pendy installed. Also, Pendy installed with it the factory TDI fuel filter in the factory location under the wing, which now operates as a secondary, since my Racor replaceable filter is 60 micron. I can handle crap fuel in this setup.

I'll have to consider what can be done to the Racor mount to prevent rust, although it is made of aluminum, the filter canister gets change every season as part of regular maintenance, and the bowl is lexan, so it won't rust.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 10th, 2008, 09:28 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
So the stock lift pump has no problem pulling fuel through the extra Racor - or do you have to upgrade or something. I thought the lift pumps were sensitive to extra loads.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 10th, 2008, 11:25 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
I'm not perceiving any with the stock 2.8 lift pump.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 10th, 2008, 12:12 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
How does the 2.8 work, is there a lift pump in the tank as well as the injection pump pulling fuel? Because if that's the case, then I wouldn't think there would be a problem with a slightly restricted flow in most applications. One option for a filter might be a Stanadyne option too, they make some big ones that are very high flow
__________________
Mom: "Boy, you got champagne taste on a beer budget."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
diesel, fuel

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300 Tdi Egt Q?????? Buckon37s Defender Technical Discussions 37 July 11th, 2012 11:26 AM
Diesel Fuel Filter/Primer Michael Defender Technical Discussions 16 August 15th, 2006 12:45 PM
Replacing Fuel Filter...Should be easy right? Antonios Defender Technical Discussions 5 January 5th, 2006 09:38 AM
95 won't start, possible fuel priming issue? jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 1 March 15th, 2005 09:45 AM
Fuel Filter milli Defender Technical Discussions 3 January 21st, 2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Copyright