Defender Source Forum banner

Info needed on Arb air locker.

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  brianbonner 
#1 ·
I have recently been interested in arb air lockers but I don't know much about them so I have a few questions.

1.How much is traction increased on loose surfaces, say mud as I am a flatlander and have no rocks to climb.

2. What are the negatives, does it decrease the life of my drivetrain? Does it hurt road performance because my rover will be used 5 days a weak on a short commute.

3. How difficult are they to install? I have good mechanical knowledge, but I have no experience working on rovers. Or should I get a pro to install?

4. If I do get them should I get just a rear, or front and rear.

Sorry for the stupid questions, If I missed a good thread about this on my search don't hesitate to point me to it and get mad at me. Thanks for the help in advance!:)

#2 ·
1) Diff locks help when the traction between the two wheels on an axle are substantially different. Very little help on mud. Main plus is climbs where the axle articulates.

2) No negatives. When off it is a normal differential.

3) As easy as any diff. There is an instruction on this site.

4) Rear diff locks are all most people need. Most traction is needed when climbing and at that time most weight is on the rear axle. If you get a front, you will need a lot of serious strengthening of the axle components to make it reliable. If you need to ask, you do not need one. :)

You should get aftermarket halfshafts as the stock ones will be easy to break with the locker engaged.

#5 ·
Do you ever have two tires in the mud and one or more with some traction? It would be a great spot to use a locker.

Do you ever drive in snow? It helps there. They help anytime the center difflock is engaged and any of your tires loose traction, if you engage the lockers.