If the hub is off..... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old April 27th, 2010, 01:02 PM
NoVaKevin
Kevin
sold#1469

Exclamation If the hub is off.....

How long will it take to replace the axle seal? Front left hub is leaking, being replaced under warranty. The axle seal is also bad, but not under warranty. They quoted me 2.5hrs to replace the axle seal alone, after the fact the hub is off and everything is broken down. I have never done it before, but it certainly doesnt sound that hard to me, and 2.5hrs sounds a bit much. thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old April 27th, 2010, 01:07 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

If it is already broken down, I would think about a half (.5) hour.

Old April 27th, 2010, 01:40 PM
Ren Ching
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"

Registry
I don't understand how a leaking hub can be replaced under warranty but the hub seal is not under warranty.

Hubs don't leak, hub seals leak. So if they are changing the hub under warranty due to a leak, then the seal should be part of that job. In fact, every part and operation required to perform the warranty hub replacement should be covered.

Unless this is a parts only warranty.

Not sure what book time is particularly on a D2 but 2.5 hours to change one hub sounds maybe a bit high but not by much, assuming that is for the whole job in and out the door.

It takes about 10 seconds to pry out an old seal and about a minute or two to push a new one in, once the parts are laid out in front of you. Add a few more minutes to repack the bearings.

Where is this work taking place?

EDIT; ok, so is the bad axle seal the one where the halfshaft emerges from the axle casing inboard of the CV joint? I fthat is the case then yeah probably 2.5 hours, lord only knows with those funky D2 axles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVaKevin View Post