Defender Source Forum banner

i gotz marbles somewheres.

963 views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  midturtle 
#1 ·
i searched "marbles" and came up empty.

it sounds more like one marble to be specific.

it started two days ago, sort of a weird clanking noise when it warms up, about a mile, lets say.

its sort of continuous, except for slowing down in gear, then the noise picks up.

it aint commin from the t-case, though ill creep under there tomorrow with a stethoscope to be sure. it sounds more like the tranny/clutch area. i never heard the noise in a previous rig of mine, but this is my first rover. i dont know if theres a specific shaft or bearing that is known to wear/spin in one of these.

it has a 3.9, running good. no noticable vibrations when i rev it in or out of gear. an lt77, that feels "loose" when shifting, like theres some play somewhere. it takes concentration to shift it smooth, and im a good driver (never need to replace a clutch in my rigs). and whatever tcase came with the NAS110.

the noise is the same when driving under power or drifting with the clutch in. like i said, using the engine to slow the truck is the only thing that makes the noise pick up. theres no sort of whirring noise id associate with a spun crank bearing, and id be shocked if a motor could run that smooth in that condition anyway, but one never knows.

any ideas before i buy a new clutch kit?

See less See more
#3 ·
I second the cats. I had seen a couple of the posts of bad cats sounding like marbles in a coffee can and I did not think mine rose to that level. For too long, I dismissed it as "something else" until they finally let loose. At that point it was very obvious. I just replaced my Y-Pipe and it made a HUGE difference.

#6 ·
check your propshaft uj's it could be one of the cups has gone dry and the roller bearings have broken up allowing the spider to rattle in the cups.

they dont tend to clank when under drive unless they are very bad.