help? voltmeter test icm? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 1st, 2005, 12:28 AM
mattdh's Avatar
mattdh
Status: Offline
Matt Hurst
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 627
help? voltmeter test icm?

with the key in the ignition and in the on postion can some one with a voltmeter test how many volts are coming out of the plug next to the coil and icm. i have it boxed in red in the picture below
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	help.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	3087  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 07:46 AM
mattdh's Avatar
mattdh
Status: Offline
Matt Hurst
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 627
somebodys got to have a volttester and about 2 minutes of free time?please
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 07:52 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
I would, but I will get 0 because my 90 is in a broke down position right now. I would measure Jimmy's, but his is broke also, then there's Scotts but I think he is on vacation. Ummm but thinking about it, the wires running to and from that go from the distruibuter and the ECU right? If so it is a pulsed 12 volts IIRC.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 07:52 AM
Rod Hayward's Avatar
Rod Hayward
Status: Offline
Rod Hayward
95 D90 Green #2288
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: larkspur, co
Posts: 871
If no one has checked by this evening when I get home from work, I'll give it a shot. Yours doesn't seem to look like mine, maybe if you threw a bucket of gravel, mud, etc. in there it would look more familiar. Damn, that's a clean engine bay! Everything in there looks brand new.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 01:53 PM
mattdh's Avatar
mattdh
Status: Offline
Matt Hurst
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 627
Mike-i thought to myself the other day-to bad mike hippert is doing the conversion to the 4.0 right now becuase he is always a big help but i know he was in the middle of that and probably wouldnt be able to do any test. i think it would have 12 volt also-there is a 12volt wire going into the coil then from the coil to the icm there is a plug with 12volts going into the icm(this plug is directly above the plug in the red box in the picture above)so the plug in the red box (picture above)is coming out of the icm and going to the distributer. so i would think it would have 12volts coming out of it and mine does not-just would like to make sure before i odered a new icm.anyway thanks again mike! --------------- ROD---if you could test that for me that would be great! the only reason its so clean is becuase i cnt get it running long enough to get it dirty-actually i did a 4.6 conversion and its alot of new parts or cleaned parts and recoated parts.ron thanks in advance for the help!!!!!!! if at all possible could you take a pic of you coil wiring set up -if not dont worry about it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 02:02 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
I'll have to check the manual, but I think that's how the wiring goes. Have you tried measuring to see if it is 12 volts AC, not DC. If the signal comming out is pulsed then it may look AC to a volt meter. And I would check to see the pulse on across the +12 and -12 on the coil. Again this is going from memory and I'll have to check when I get home. (I need to copy the manual and leave it here at work
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 03:23 PM
Rod Hayward's Avatar
Rod Hayward
Status: Offline
Rod Hayward
95 D90 Green #2288
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: larkspur, co
Posts: 871
Matt- Sent you a PM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 05:52 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
OK the manual kinda sucks but,,,,,,,,,,,

It shows power running to the coil then from the coil to the ECU. It has to be 12 volts.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 07:12 PM
arbik
Status: Offline
Arbi Karapetian
1995 D-90 SW #163/500
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: La Crescenta, CA, USA
Posts: 175
matt,

if no one has sent you this, let me know..I can check it tonight, after I get home from work.
mine's a 95 D90. You can send me an email at arbik at hotmail dot com.


-arbi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 09:35 PM
Rod Hayward's Avatar
Rod Hayward
Status: Offline
Rod Hayward
95 D90 Green #2288
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: larkspur, co
Posts: 871
Matt- I only get 1 volt. I don't know if that's how it is supposed to be or not? The vehicle runs fine!
Just to make sure we're looking at the same thing, It looks like there are two wires that run from the plug to the distributor--Yes?

I don't think it makes a difference, but I have an aftermarket ignition kit (Jacobs) on the vehicle. The system takes a signal from the OEM coil, so I don't think anything has been effected.

I think I'll go back out and check the voltage while running, should it change?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 2nd, 2005, 10:05 PM
mattdh's Avatar
mattdh
Status: Offline
Matt Hurst
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 627
thanks rod! that swhat i get as well. i geuss it really doesnt matter know-i was told today i dont need the icm with the mallory unilte distributer. arbi thanks for the offer!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distributer air gap ScottYates Defender Technical Discussions 7 December 15th, 2006 02:46 PM
Ford Duraspark replacement Ignition Control Module ICM jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 0 June 7th, 2005 02:28 PM
Compression Test Results... need help interpreting them martym Defender Technical Discussions 12 March 3rd, 2005 09:46 PM
Dreaded Emissions Test and P1317- ABS Rough Road d90xj Defender Technical Discussions 3 October 24th, 2004 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Copyright