Help needed!! Vehicle speed sensor - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 15th, 2011, 07:31 PM
Crash303's Avatar
Crash303
Status: Offline
Josh Harris
97/ D90 ST #1190
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jamul, CA, USA
Posts: 180
Help needed!! Vehicle speed sensor

So a couple weeks ago I was driving on the freeway up a grade and noticed that I had no power and had to floor it to get it up some minor hills. Later I hooked up my Faultmate to see what was going on. The faults it had was P0500 Vehicle Speed Sensor Malfunction and P1317 ABS Rough Road Line Low Fault. Now the Fault P1317 I have had for a long time (since I owned the truck actually), so I don't think that it has anything to do with my problem.

I replaced the speed sensor and I still have this problem. I have check the resistance on all the connections from the speed sensor to the ECU.

Also I have replaced the Speedometer about a year ago with a VDO programmable Speedo. Since the speed sensor signal goes to the speedometer first I thought this might be important. But the sensor worked fine for almost a year after replacing the speedo before giving out. It's also interesting that the speedometer works fine without any jumps or glitches.

Also, after I clear the fault codes, the truck runs great for a short while before it starts running like shit and the code comes back. This would seem to indicate that the problem is with the sensor, not another part of the engine. The rough road sensor code takes a lot longer to come back, and the crappy performance isn't linked to its appearance.

Everything looks good otherwise. Could I have gotten a bad (new) sensor? Does anyone have any suggestions where I should look next.
__________________
When the F*%# did we get Ice cream!!!

"They are, in factory original condition, noisy, they leak water in from the top and oil out from underneath, you can never demist the windows in winter, they handle like scaffolding towers, and use more fuel than Beijing." Richard Hammond
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 15th, 2011, 08:35 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
What is the fuel pressure when it is running badly?
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 15th, 2011, 08:59 PM
carlosz's Avatar
carlosz
Status: Offline
Carlos
frank stein "frankie" in action RIP
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: east coast
Posts: 962
Registry
scope the sensor while driving to in order to see any discrepancies, all is well you should see a contiuos up and down pattern, when it fails you should see this pattern drop. if that is the case then you may have a bad sensor.
I cannot think of other way than to scope of graph the suspected sensor, but even then I would take a hard look at wires, possible do a wiggle wire test.
just ideas....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 16th, 2011, 02:22 AM
Crash303's Avatar
Crash303
Status: Offline
Josh Harris
97/ D90 ST #1190
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jamul, CA, USA
Posts: 180
Well after playing around with this for a few hours today. I asked Neill aka Navydevildoc to lend another set of eyes on this. We started out looking at the shop wiring diagrams and then compared it to VDO wiring diagram. Then we notice that there is no signal going to the ECU from the speedometer. So I put in the original speedo and that fix the fault, but now I have a speedo that is 12 mph off and the odometer doesn't work.

So now my question is there a pin on the VDO speedo that would give off a signal for the ECU? Has anyone with a 97 found a work around for this?
__________________
When the F*%# did we get Ice cream!!!

"They are, in factory original condition, noisy, they leak water in from the top and oil out from underneath, you can never demist the windows in winter, they handle like scaffolding towers, and use more fuel than Beijing." Richard Hammond
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 28th, 2011, 05:22 PM
4x4sche
Status: Offline
john
73 SIII_ 97 D90_94 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wa usa
Posts: 34
Same issue with my 97. Check engine light came on today with speed sensor code 0500. I changed to a VDO two weeks ago...how did you wire your VDO speedo?

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 28th, 2011, 08:19 PM
4x4sche
Status: Offline
john
73 SIII_ 97 D90_94 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wa usa
Posts: 34
I agree with you (crash303) I believe that it is the yellow lead that goes from pin 7 on the original speedo that is an output signal to the engine computer. The new speedo does not supply this signal on pin 7. I drove a little over 100 miles before my CEL came on. More time to work on this tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 29th, 2011, 03:31 AM
TS888's Avatar
TS888
Status: Offline
Tony Sims
1984 110
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: White Salmon, WA
Posts: 460
Why swap to an aftermarket speedo?
__________________
Quote:
[appropriated from Ren Ching] Most faults can usually be traced to the badge on the grill.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris snell
This is straight out of the Manual for Build Builders.
Tony
1984 110 "Smokey" (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 29th, 2011, 04:10 AM
Crash303's Avatar
Crash303
Status: Offline
Josh Harris
97/ D90 ST #1190
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jamul, CA, USA
Posts: 180
Well the reason I replaced it. Was the odometer LCD went out completely. So couldn't see how many miles were on it or trip miles.

Now this sounds kind like a hack job, but I spliced into the wiring harness of the speedo and ran four wires to my center console and wired up the old speedo and stuck in the center console. You only need the ground (pin 3 Black), power (pin 2 Green/white), Signal from the sender (pin 4 black/red) and signal to the ECU (pin 7 yellow/pink). Fixed the problem for now. I'm thinking about trying to take the guts out of the old speedo and but into a small box with a quality connector and stash it behind the instrument panel. If I do I will for sure post pictures.
__________________
When the F*%# did we get Ice cream!!!

"They are, in factory original condition, noisy, they leak water in from the top and oil out from underneath, you can never demist the windows in winter, they handle like scaffolding towers, and use more fuel than Beijing." Richard Hammond
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 29th, 2011, 06:44 AM
HeloBubba's Avatar
HeloBubba
Status: Offline
Chris Murphy
'89 127 (D130), '16 LR4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fleming Island, FL
Posts: 774
Hi, Josh-

I installed VDO gauges in my 97 about four years ago now with no issues at all since. I'm flying a bunch this week, but if I have a chance this weekend, I'll try and dig into my notes and see how I wired it all up and try to help.

I did most of the research into the install here on D-90.com VDO install threads, along with the little diagrams the gauges come with.

Murph
__________________
Chris Murphy
'89 D130SW
'86 D110 3-door
'89 D110SW
'16 LR4

Former:
'97 D90SW - SOLD SEP '14
'94 D90ST - SOLD MAY '13
D90s sold while assigned overseas. You're welcome America!
'06 Range Rover Sport Supercharged
'8X FankenRover D100
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 1st, 2011, 02:49 PM
4x4sche
Status: Offline
john
73 SIII_ 97 D90_94 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wa usa
Posts: 34
my research tells me I need to put the yellow lead (ECU connection) on pin 8 along with the signal from the speed sensor. I am going to try this.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 5th, 2011, 02:41 AM
4x4sche
Status: Offline
john
73 SIII_ 97 D90_94 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wa usa
Posts: 34
Working fine....no more Check engine light.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 18th, 2011, 09:49 PM
4x4sche
Status: Offline
john
73 SIII_ 97 D90_94 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wa usa
Posts: 34
One more change

I forgot to mention that it is necessary to disconnect the power (green wire at sensor) and change this pin on the sensor to a ground connection.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 18th, 2012, 02:35 PM
kinetic's Avatar
kinetic
Status: Offline
Kinetic Adventures
TDI's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 160
Anyone else come across the P0500 - Vehicle speed sensor A problem? Having no running issues at all, but switched to VDO Speedo about 500 miles ago. Keeps throwing this code out since about mile 300. Wondering if indeed the fix is just to move the yellow wire from pin 7 to pin 8.

Thanks so much in advance!
-Aaron

BTW - on a '97
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 6th, 2016, 11:03 PM
MotoMando
Status: Offline
Armando Centeno
1997 Defender 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Delaware, OH USA
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4sche View Post
I forgot to mention that it is necessary to disconnect the power (green wire at sensor) and change this pin on the sensor to a ground connection.
I am now troubleshooting P0500 with the VDO. What was the final fix? WHat green wire at the sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 7th, 2016, 08:19 AM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,801
When doing the GEMS conversion I have heard a lot of the guys not connecting the speed input wire to the ECU at all. (since they are using the old style speedo and do not have the output signal) I haven't heard of them having problems, not that they aren't.
__________________
Land Rover 110
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 7th, 2016, 08:43 AM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt Milks View Post
When doing the GEMS conversion I have heard a lot of the guys not connecting the speed input wire to the ECU at all. (since they are using the old style speedo and do not have the output signal) I haven't heard of them having problems, not that they aren't.
The engine idle control won't kick in properly if the ECU doesn't know if the car is stopped.
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 7th, 2016, 10:23 AM
MotoMando
Status: Offline
Armando Centeno
1997 Defender 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Delaware, OH USA
Posts: 119
I connected the white green wire (original speedo to ECU) to the black red (VSS source) wire. So far no P0500 code. The VDO speedo is still weird. Idle seems fine for now. I did not move the solid green wire from the VSS to ground yet. However, I'm still getting a P1317(?) code that the rough road sensor is permanently grounded.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 7th, 2016, 03:50 PM
MotoMando
Status: Offline
Armando Centeno
1997 Defender 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Delaware, OH USA
Posts: 119
Corrections above, the Yellow Pink connected to Black Red now. I drove about 50 miles today and the P0500 CEL came back. I'll put back the original speedometer for now. I'll just have to rely on the fuel gauge.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 7th, 2016, 03:58 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,241
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoMando View Post
I drove about 50 miles today and the P0500 CEL came back. I'll put back the original speedometer for now. I'll just have to rely on the fuel gauge.
How do you have the whole thing wired? The old posts have a lot of incorrect information.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 7th, 2016, 04:49 PM
MotoMando
Status: Offline
Armando Centeno
1997 Defender 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Delaware, OH USA
Posts: 119
Current Configuration

From Vehicle Bundle - to new connection:
Thin Black - Ground
Yellow/Pink - Black/Red
Black/Red - VDO Pin 8
Thick Black - VDO Pin 3
White/Green - VDO Pin 4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
sensor

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Road Speed Sensor Cred Defender Technical Discussions 2 February 16th, 2010 09:37 PM
Speed Sensor for Aftermarket NAV system? 97d90#773 Defender Technical Discussions 2 May 20th, 2006 11:45 PM
Speed Sensor and ECU Issues DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 14 February 16th, 2006 08:45 PM
speed sensor wiring rcork Defender Technical Discussions 2 July 27th, 2004 09:44 PM
Can anybody do a Vin Check for me? Quimbola Misc. Chit-Chat 7 February 18th, 2004 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Copyright