hella wiring harness - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 10:35 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
hella wiring harness

got it all figured out, well at least I think I do.... what is the green wire for? it connects into the switch I am not sure where it needs to be hooked up. I dont really understand the directions from hella. its the green wire that runs into the switch. thanks for your help. hopefully have everything wired up and going this sunday. finally got my 4k's
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0274.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	5168   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0275.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	5169  

__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 10:56 PM
Buckon37s's Avatar
Buckon37s
Status: Offline
Buck
Re-Fendered 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Temecula, CA, USA
Posts: 3,376
man hella wiring harneses suck. I ended up throwing it out and wired mine without it. Looking at the pic, which is a little hard to see, I am guessing it is for the optional power hook up. Meant to find a power source that turns off when the truck does if you do not want your lights turned on when the car key is not turned. I probably wrong though.
__________________
2009 King of the Hammers

BUCK Wild Racing
Driver: Me
Co-driver: Pat Quirk
Team 911

Rover Tracks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PSC
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DJ Safety
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
West Coast Rovers
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reel Driveline
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Made it further than half of the other guys, but the Hammers won.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 11:32 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Coming from the switch it needs to go to a 12 volt source as it is used to engage the relay contacts. As Dave said (and I think most Hella wiring circuits suggest this) the wire gets connected in line with the headlight high beam circuit so you can't turn on the lights unless the high beams are on, that way you don't accidentally (yeah how in the world would you not notice Hella 4ks are not on!) turn on the 4ks and blind everyone on the road.

But when I wire them up I just go to a switched part of the ignition, so they can't be turned on or accidentally left on when the truck is off.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 3rd, 2006, 06:14 AM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
where should I hook the green wire? I can do a lot of things but wiring and electricity isnt what I prefer. where should I tie into the high beams? or maybe just parking lights?
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 3rd, 2006, 08:01 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Depends, do you want to run them only when the headlights are on? or when the park lights are on? Whatever else you want to have them come on with you should connect the green wire too.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 3rd, 2006, 01:11 PM
kiefffff's Avatar
kiefffff
Status: Offline
Keith Rider
1994 Portofino ST: #217
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: C-Ville, Nelson County VA
Posts: 420
Registry
cut and discard the green wire. thats what i did.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 3rd, 2006, 09:16 PM
snuffer's Avatar
snuffer
Status: Offline
Randy Black
'95 D 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa Ok USA
Posts: 753
I tapped into the cigar lighter in the fuse box and used a switch with and indicator light on it, so I would notice if the lights are on in the daylight.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 4th, 2006, 06:31 AM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
coool, did you just mash the wire down into the fuse block under the fuse?
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 4th, 2006, 11:28 AM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
DOes anyone know how to wire into the factory light on the dash for the foglamps?
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 4th, 2006, 03:09 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover4x4
DOes anyone know how to wire into the factory light on the dash for the foglamps?

Yes, I'll PM you later with pictures. I'm just on my way out the door.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 4th, 2006, 05:03 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
cool thanks or you can email them. pperkinson@gmail.com
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 4th, 2006, 05:10 PM
snuffer's Avatar
snuffer
Status: Offline
Randy Black
'95 D 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa Ok USA
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover4x4
coool, did you just mash the wire down into the fuse block under the fuse?

Yes, but there is a clip that is made to use with the fuse and a staycon connector. I will use one the next time I go by the auto parts store. You probably have already noticed that the cigar lighter is only powered if the key is in the run position. I figured as long as I don't leave the key in the run position with the engine off, I won't run the battery down with the lights.

I too would like to tap into the aux. light indicator in the instrument panel.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 4th, 2006, 08:37 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
hella harness does blow.
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 4th, 2006, 11:28 PM
jdempsey
Status: Offline
Jason Dempsey
94/ D90/ Red
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Chester, PA, USA
Posts: 92
okay, i just mounted 4 Hella 500's to the top of my roll bar. I followed the directions to a tee and I still can't get the darn things to work.

I did not hook the lights up to any of the existing wiring exept for the battery. I used the green wire as a ground for the switch. I can't figure our what the hella I did wrong. Help
__________________
Persistence, there is no substitute
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:30 AM
snuffer's Avatar
snuffer
Status: Offline
Randy Black
'95 D 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa Ok USA
Posts: 753
The green wire goes to 12V power, it just senses power to close the relay. The brown wires are ground. The yellow is not needed unless you tap into the headlights.

I grounded the brown wires at the lights to the frame and ran the brown wire from the relay to the battery.


This was a harness for 2 Hella 4K's.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:51 PM
jdempsey
Status: Offline
Jason Dempsey
94/ D90/ Red
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Chester, PA, USA
Posts: 92
I got them working. Ditched the relay and hooked them up direct...done

How important is that relay anyway?
__________________
Persistence, there is no substitute
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:58 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
got them working I like em a lot, where did yall ground the lights? I need to "refine" my setup a different switch and mabe some barri nuts
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 5th, 2006, 10:27 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
So, you ended up with a single wire to the lights with a switch in there somewhere? You may toast the switch eventually, as that is a lot of juice to flow through it. I hope you put a fuse in there somewhere at least. I personally never rig up an accessory lights without a relay, though I usually just wire it all up on my own. Got some nice relay blocks from Hella to protect the connections and really neaten up the installation in cases of multiple relays. As with Mike, I usually take the switch feed from something wired into the headlights, this makes sure the lights are off when I have the truck off. But I feed from the dash lights, that way I can use them with either my low, high, or no beams at all.

Here is basically all you need to know about relays, outstanding place to deal with as well.....
http://www.rallylights.com/hella/Relays.asp

And here is a good wiring diagram to go with.
http://www.rallylights.com/useful_in...amp_wiring.htm


Honestly, I would ditch the Hella harness myself as well. I'd get a standard relay, a factory switch, fuse holder and go from there. Gives you more freedom that way, and looks cleaner as an install as well.

-Hans
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 6th, 2006, 06:29 AM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,526
Registry
no I still used the hella harness I just chopped it up a little and made some midifications to keep it neat (er??). I used the lighter to power my relay. I want to get some factory switches and try to redo my wiring I am not sure how to get things in thru the firewall to the steering colum etc.. but pretty neat safe and effective. thanks for everones help
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 6th, 2006, 08:29 AM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Take your gauge cluster off and you can run the wires right through the firewall throught the black grommits
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Hella 4000 (Euro Beam) plus Hella wiring harness Gore Ranger For Sale - Parts 9 January 2nd, 2010 08:26 PM
Hella Ralleye wiring harness, soft top... maybe some other stuff. minorthreat For Sale - Parts 5 March 11th, 2008 01:35 AM
Hella 4000 Wiring Harness kennybahr Wanted 0 February 26th, 2008 04:27 PM
Hella FF 1000's with wiring kit NIB Jammer 48 For Sale - Parts 0 August 15th, 2005 07:40 AM
90 main wiring harness & TDI engine mounts TDI Guy For Sale - Parts 5 December 13th, 2004 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Copyright