hella 4000 wiring - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 25th, 2005, 10:28 PM
bjenk
Status: Offline
Brian Jenkinson
1994 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morrison, colorado, usa
Posts: 158
hella 4000 wiring

I am a little confused (imagine that). I bought these lights used and am finally getting around to wiring them up. I am going to put on the gm style waterproof connections. However, I had to take them apart to find which wire is which. Here is the confusion, I see the city lights wire and the ground wire, but why do they have the ability to be connected by the t-tab? The t-tab is just on there, not pushed through (connected). I just do not understand why you would want to ground the city light wire. Any help great. I plan to take the tab off for now until I hear back
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0618.JPG
Views:	237
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	3223   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0619.JPG
Views:	197
Size:	121.8 KB
ID:	3224  

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 26th, 2005, 03:02 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Brian I don't see why it is there other then to act as a bad strain relief. And like you said if it was pushed through it would short the wires and blow the fuse. I say take it off. which beam pattern did ya get?
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 26th, 2005, 04:18 PM
bjenk
Status: Offline
Brian Jenkinson
1994 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morrison, colorado, usa
Posts: 158
As always thanks mike for the response. These are the hella euro beam with city lights. I went ahead and took those off (t-tab). Here is what I put on for connections, picture. I was looking at your wiring diagram last night trying to figure out what I was going to do. I want to run these lights so that I have a dash switch that turns power off, switch on by the headlight position switch (2nd position turning on the city lights, high bean turning of the euro beam), and then switch for alway on. I am just thinking of the wiring between headlight switch and dash switch with only using two relays (one for the city lights and one for the euro beam). I also plan to upgrade headlight wires while I am into this. As you can tell I have been in no hurry to get this wiring done. I guess I just like to drive it around right now with it so nice in Denver. Anyway, if you have any suggestions about my wiring feel free.

brian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0621.JPG
Views:	214
Size:	126.3 KB
ID:	3225  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 26th, 2005, 04:30 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Plug looks good but I am not sure what you want to do with the switches. Do you want the city lights on with the headlights or the other light? Do you want to be able to switch both or just the euro beams? I can do up a revised diagram for ya tommorrow
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 26th, 2005, 06:06 PM
bjenk
Status: Offline
Brian Jenkinson
1994 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morrison, colorado, usa
Posts: 158
Mike, this is what I am thinking. One dash switch with three positions.
1. off-no power to the aux lights
2. on- with power coming from the headlight switch (low beam with city lights and high beam with Euro lights)
3. on-power to the Euro beam

This is hard to explain in writing. I would like to do this an utilize only two relays. Let me know if it is possible.

Also, what guage wire did you use from your battery to your aux fuse box?

Thanks,
Brian
I plan to take lots of pictures just so others can see it.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 26th, 2005, 06:30 PM
Quimbola's Avatar
Quimbola
Status: Offline
Josh
1994 #1695 Not stock.
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 364
Lighting.

I have my lights hooked up like you describe, you can look at my wiring I am in Conifer. Let me know.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 26th, 2005, 11:21 PM
bjenk
Status: Offline
Brian Jenkinson
1994 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morrison, colorado, usa
Posts: 158
Josh love to look at another 90. It will have to be sometime next week.
thanks
brian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 27th, 2005, 12:25 AM
mhansen's Avatar
mhansen
Status: Offline
Mike Hansen
97 D-90 SW #2243
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch,CO,USA
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjenk
Josh love to look at another 90.
Brian

Colorado has one of the highest cosentration of Defenders in the US. The Solihull Society is running Left-Hand / Carnage Canyon on Saturday. There will be at least 5 Defenders running the trail.

Jabber
Yousef
Princes Buttercup
Hans
and Me,

I am sure there will be more.

http://www.solihullsociety.org/

Should be great fun
__________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
--Benjamin Franklin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 27th, 2005, 08:52 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjenk
Mike, this is what I am thinking. One dash switch with three positions.

1. off-no power to the aux lights

2. on- with power coming from the headlight switch (low beam with city lights and high beam with Euro lights)
3. on-power to the Euro beam


This is hard to explain in writing. I would like to do this an utilize only two relays. Let me know if it is possible.


Also, what guage wire did you use from your battery to your aux fuse box?

Thanks,
Brian


I plan to take lots of pictures just so others can see it.



I can draw it up! For the fuse box I ran 4 quage wire, a short length too as the fuse box is mounted next to the battery.

Follow-up Post:

Here it is
Attached Files
File Type: zip citylights 2.zip (27.6 KB, 181 views)
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 22nd, 2005, 07:42 AM
Cyborg
Status: Offline
Larry Walton
'97 D-90 ST #2066 UK 4X4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland OR. USA
Posts: 107
I have a general question about auxillary lighting. I am getting a couple of Hella lights for Christmas. I will be mounting them to the front of my roof rack and am wondering what is considered to be the best way to run the wiring to the interior?? I am sure there is a method that is considered the standard way but to me it is not obvious. any thoughts would be appreciated..

Larry
__________________
Visit the Land Rover Beer Bar,"The Best Beer Bar X Far!"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 22nd, 2005, 07:52 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Most that I see run the wires up on the cage around the window. SOme drill a small hole in the cage and un it up inside the cage.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 23rd, 2011, 05:43 PM
D110
Status: Offline
Jamie
1955 107
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 110
Registry
Digging up this old thread as I am finally getting around to installing my Hella 4000 Eurobeams and was wondering how most people have their's installed - I bought the wiring harness and was disappointed that the switch wasn't a three way switch. I had been thinking of wiring the lights independent of the light switch, and using a three way switch so I can have just the city lights on. Any thoughts on having the lights independent of the headlights - pros/cons? Is there any point in using the wiring harness if I am not setting them up to work in conjunction with the headlights? Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Hella 4000 (Euro Beam) plus Hella wiring harness Gore Ranger For Sale - Parts 9 January 2nd, 2010 08:26 PM
Hella FF 1000's with wiring kit NIB Jammer 48 For Sale - Parts 0 August 15th, 2005 07:40 AM
hella city light wiring bjenk Defender Technical Discussions 10 March 8th, 2005 08:08 AM
Hella 4000 lights Nigel Buchan For Sale - Parts 4 November 26th, 2003 09:47 PM
Hella 4000 lights! TwisteD90 For Sale - Parts 17 October 7th, 2003 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Copyright