Heater in 1984 Defender Question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 9th, 2013, 02:37 PM
Karl Hungus
Buck Rogers
1984 Defender 110 with 200 TDi

Registry
Heater in 1984 Defender Question

Hello All:

I did not see an answer to my question after trying a search, so I will throw this out here.

I just picked up my new-to-me 1984 Defender 110 from the East Coast Warehouse yesterday and drove it back home to Upstate NY during the storm. It is really awesome and ran great but I could not get the heater to work. Made for a REALLY cold ride!

It is a RHD and I had the lever on the right hand side of the dash down in the "red" zone area and the fan was working on either the "1" or the "2" setting but it was only blowing cold air, even after being full warmed up.

I am not a super mechanic but I was wondering if I was missing something or do I need to think about replacing the heater. I have never owned a LR before and only drove them while in Iraq.

Could it be as simple as I missed a button to turn the heater on?

Thanks!
Buck

Forgot to mention that it has had a 200 TDi conversion as that might be important as well.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 9th, 2013, 02:45 PM
navydevildoc
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team

Registry
It could be that the cable has snapped that operates the mixer door on top of the heater box. If you look on top you will see a lever with a control cable. On left hand drive the lever goes to the right on full hot. If you move the lever in the cab, is that lever on the box moving? If not, that's your problem and you need a new cable.