Getting started tips for doing electrical work. - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old December 4th, 2009, 12:05 PM
Manimal
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team

Getting started tips for doing electrical work.

I am a total newbie to doing auto electrical work. What is the best procedure for locating a faulty connection or installing new wiring? What do I need to get started? A voltage meter? A solder iron? I have a pair of hella black magics that keeps crapping out on me due to poorly installed wiring and I also have some new items that I would like to install but it's a bit intimidating if you've never done it before. Just looking at the wiring diagrams in the manuals makes me sweat. Any tips for a complete electrical newbie are highly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 4th, 2009, 06:01 PM
leastonce
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team

Registry
Start with something other than your Defender ...

In all seriousness find a good auto electrician and stick to minor troubleshooting.

http://autorepair.about.com/od/troub...rcuit-tstr.htm
Old December 4th, 2009, 06:19 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

Wiring is not that difficult... It is just common sense. Get a good Fluke Multimeter, a test light, wire stripers and some connectors. Also, using heat shrink helps too.

Wiring a relay is very easy, although it seems complicated. You can google it for a diagram.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 4th, 2009, 06:56 PM
D90user
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I

Agreed. It is quite easy. A multimeter is key, and so is a good soldering iron. Practice soldering, and make sure to use flux, it will make a big difference.

Wiring diagrams can be intimidating, but bring it to your truck and actually look at what it is telling you. It is straight forward.

post up any questions and I'll try to help.