Fusable Link by batt on 92 RRC...? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old February 6th, 2005, 12:35 PM
RedRhinoProducts's Avatar
RedRhinoProducts
Status: Offline
RedRhinoProducts
Big-Ass Disco
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The help is good round here..
Posts: 87
Question Fusable Link by batt on 92 RRC...?

Hey all,

We have been trouble shooting wiring problems on the Mrs. 92 RRC for some time and someone brought up a good point that the fusable link may be shot in certain parts. I check with my usual parts sources and the replacement/upgrade for the fusable link is around $160. I am wondering if I can just cut the link at out and install a regular type fuse setup. I am not sure what the ratin on the fuse currently is or if there are multiple ratings...

If anyone has any input it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
__________________
Waiting for your truck to choke.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old February 6th, 2005, 12:54 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
I Honestly HATE HATE HATE fusible links. When they go, it's dramatic sometimes. Sparks, fire... and that's how they are supposed to work! If you can find the rating of it, you can use a maxi-fuse in it's place which will be cheaper and safer. If you have the factory wiring diagram, it should show the rating of the link in there.

Here's a nice pic of what a fusible link is capable of.
http://www.buildacar.com/pic/chart-file14.pdf
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 6th, 2005, 04:07 PM
RedRhinoProducts's Avatar
RedRhinoProducts
Status: Offline
RedRhinoProducts
Big-Ass Disco
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The help is good round here..
Posts: 87
Hans,

Is there any difference between a Maxi Fuse and a regular fuse?
__________________
Waiting for your truck to choke.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old February 6th, 2005, 04:34 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
Maxi-fuses work the same, they just have a bigger housing and higher amperage rating. They are the ones in the 60-100 amp or so range.

They look the same as regular blade type fuses, just supersized.

-Hans
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 6th, 2005, 06:43 PM
RedRhinoProducts's Avatar
RedRhinoProducts
Status: Offline
RedRhinoProducts
Big-Ass Disco
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The help is good round here..
Posts: 87
My only concern is that the "fuseable link" setup by Rover is all different ratings... Am I correct in thinking that I need to install a seperate fuse for each fuseable link?
__________________
Waiting for your truck to choke.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 6th, 2005, 07:23 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
That would be correct.

Not that you have to replace ALL of them right now, but there should only be a couple anyways. I've never seen a car with more than 2 or 3 that I can remember. Generally things of that high rating are only seen in the charging system and the main leads going into the fuse block.

I've found a few on the net that have multiple fuses in them
something like this should do the job fine, though I don't have access to your wiring diagram nor a similar vehicle to confirm it. The block is $35 and the fuses are about $3-6 each depending on where you look.
http://www.cardomain.com/item/LITLSPD4

-Hans
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RRC non-ABS: can you lock brakes? artm Defender Technical Discussions 1 May 30th, 2005 07:13 PM
Home design 3 link system UKlandyandy Defender Technical Discussions 65 February 17th, 2005 09:09 PM
DII LT-230 in Old RRC, HELP Please. RedRhinoProducts Defender Technical Discussions 1 November 6th, 2004 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Copyright