Fuel system bleeding - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old March 15th, 2008, 06:47 PM
CDNRover
Jeff Labbé
110 Ex-Mod FFR 200tdi

Registry
Fuel system bleeding

Hi! I'm new to D-90 and not sure on how it work but i'll give it a try! I own a 110 military with a 2.5 turbo diesel (before 200tdi engine) I'm tring to bleed the fuel system and it doesn't seems to work.. I have a sedimentor unit and a fuel filter (like the 200tdi type) I primed the fuel pump lever but after a zillion of millions of priming that lever I start to think that I'm not doing the good thing.. Or that I'm insane. Can anyone advise me?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 15th, 2008, 08:44 PM
Uncle Douglas
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor

Registry
bleeding

There should be a bleed nipple that needs to be opened momentarily as you pump to bleed off the air. Otherwise you are just compressing the air. Sorry I don't know that engine so I can tell you where it is.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old March 16th, 2008, 07:31 AM
Bozman
Greg
1991 200tdi D90

Registry
I have a 2.5 NA diesel. I believe the turbo 2.5 is very similar, so there are a couple of options.

There is a "banjo" bolt on the top of the fuel filter that can be loosened to allow air to escape. Loosen the bolt, pump the prime pump until fuel begins coming out of the opening. You can also do this while the starter is engaged to really push the air out. This is a little messy, but gets the job done.