fuel pump about to die? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old April 23rd, 2013, 10:36 PM
jefferson
Jeff A
97 Defender 90 SW #593

fuel pump about to die?

My fuel pump is making a noticeable buzzing sound - I can hear it while standing at the back of the truck while it idles. This sound is new.

A little background: Just drove the truck 1,800 miles over three days from VA to CO. No issues during the drive, except fourth gear felt pretty gutless crossing Kansas. I had the accelerator floored and it was hard to keep it above 2000 RPMs. Its a 97 auto with 80K miles. I've been driving this truck for 15 years and it normally cruises along in the 2500 RPM range. I was initially thinking a re-gear was in order given the topography out here, but I am now wondering whether this might be related. It feels like I need to go deeper into the pedal to get it to respond at highway speeds.

Anyhow, after I arrived I left my ARB fridge running for a few days and it drained the battery. I charged the battery , fired the engine and it coughed and stalled. Fired it up again and took it for a spin, after which I noticed the high-pitched fuel pump whine. Its running fine otherwise.

Thoughts? Should I be ready to swap out the fuel pump?
Advertisement

Old April 23rd, 2013, 10:44 PM
nathanwind
Jason Lavender
88-90-127-LR3
D-90 Source Vendor

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefferson View Post
My fuel pump is making a noticeable buzzing sound - I can hear it while standing at the back of the truck while it idles. This sound is new.