Front Window Removal - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old August 28th, 2006, 09:53 AM
Jim Ngo
1994 D90 #80
Front Window Removal

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I just purchased an AA Yellow Defender 90, 1994 #80. I've had it for a week and it has been an absolute blast so far.

I have a question: I have sliding front windows and would like to remove them and reinstall them when the weather gets colder. It doesn't seem obvious to me how the windows come off. Do you have to remove the door panels to access the fasteners?

Old August 28th, 2006, 10:20 AM
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
You need a deep socket if you dont have the original "removal tool" - but its easy just to take the door panels off. The studs might be pretty rusty anyway so you might have to use some liquid wrench or PB blaster on them. Also, when left on for a long time, the gasket adheres itself really well to the paint and the door top, making them stick together. Just get a spackle knife or something thin to run in between and peel them apart.

Old August 28th, 2006, 04:30 PM
Mark M
Mark Mathews
'94 Beluga Black ST
If your door top studs are anything like what I found the first time I took the tops off (very rusted) you will want to invest in stainless steel studs and Quick-nuts. Atlantic British usually has them in stock.
Old May 17th, 2009, 09:08 AM
Denis Ng
1994 D-90 ST #34
Hey Guys,
Long time listener first time caller.
New owner fiddling around on a Sunday morning.
Trying to take off door tops and having a helluva time. Seems as if gaskets are sticking(looks like all the nuts rusted/removed by former owner) and even though have tried previously suggested methods I've had no luck.
Thanks for any suggestions.
Old May 17th, 2009, 11:39 AM
I have never seen a rover in person