front tires wear much faster than rears? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 3rd, 2012, 07:51 PM
tommyd
Tom
LR3

front tires wear much faster than rears?

My front tires have worn much faster than the rears. I know this is why we rotate our tires, but the wear rate seems extreme in the front. I'm no tire expert, but fronts have maybe 20% left, rears look almost new. Tires came on the truck when I bought it 5 years ago, but were pretty much new as far as I could tell. I've put maybe 4,000 miles on the tires.

Does this explanation make sense? (from http://www.landyzone.co.uk/lz/f8/tyr...ate-71197.html)

"The rear tyres on all cars/trucks fitted with big axles always run DEAD IN LINE, whereas in all other cars with "independent suspension" and even front wheel drivers with beam axles at the back, the rear wheels are always slightly toed IN to reduce rear end oversteer, which they think makes it handle safer when the car is being driven by a normal incompetent driver. LandRover with axles aren't supposed to be able to go fast enough for this to matter! So, the back tyres always stay pointing dead ahead, AND always vertical to the road surface even when the body rolls above the axle. Thus, there is almost no scrubbing effect on the tread, and the back tyres will last 100k miles easily in many cases.

The front tyres on Landies with real front axles also do not change their geometry much in driving, and assuming your tracking is set correctly, and you don't scrub the tyres by cornering like an idiot especially at LOW speeds like in car parks, then the front tyres get an easy life too. They do NOT get pushed outwards and scrubbed."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 3rd, 2012, 09:09 PM
airbornrover
William Skidmore
SIII 109 SW