Fear of restoration: bulkhead and frame - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 19th, 2014, 06:08 PM
defenderholty
Russell
1985 LR Ninety 200tdi

Fear of restoration: bulkhead and frame

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the defender world. About a year ago I bought a 85 LR90. I love it, but it is Swiss cheese. The frame is going to need to be replaced and the bulkhead at some point.

I found a used bulkhead in Europe with the original vin still attached. Can I legally import it and use it on my LR90? Also my frame is getting pretty thin and rusty in places, so I want to replace it with a galvanized frame. I hear of people doing this, but how does one get around the federal rules with these things? Would it not be like cutting the vin numbers off of an old LR90 and putting them on a new Defender?
I guess what I am trying to get to here is that I have been reading stories of the NHTSA's crackdown on all things defender, and I can't afford to order parts only to have them get crushed in port (or my driveway for that matter).

Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 19th, 2014, 06:18 PM
airbornrover
William Skidmore
SIII 109 SW

Look up your state dmv for restoration cars or the like. Should be able to find a bulkhead in your state or at least this side of the pond. Chassis are easy to get here as well. Safari (in your state) or RDS or Urban Land Cruisers can help you out for chassis and bulkhead.
Old February 19th, 2014, 06:50 PM
Uncle Douglas
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor

Registry