Fault Code P0183 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old February 16th, 2005, 08:32 PM
proulx70's Avatar
proulx70
Status: Offline
Paul S.
1997 NAS BRG Soft-Top
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 216
Fault Code P0183

Check engine light came on, went to Auto Zone and they let me borrow the ODBII reader.

It read exactly as follows:

P0183 Fuel Temperature Sensor A Circuit High Input

Thoughts?

I cleared it, but am wondering about the seriousness of this fault.

Thanks!

Paul
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old February 16th, 2005, 11:15 PM
48vphantom's Avatar
48vphantom
Status: Offline
Jeff Hoien
1997 NAS D90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 96
Hey Paul, that fault would indicate a defective fuel temp sensor. drive cycle A, i think which means if it's bad, it will probably turn the light on again fairly soon. the sensor adjusts fuel pulse/pressure to the injectors for hot starts. did the light come on or did it flash? was this a hot day or was the engine running warm? post up again if/when it happens.
jeff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 17th, 2005, 05:28 PM
proulx70's Avatar
proulx70
Status: Offline
Paul S.
1997 NAS BRG Soft-Top
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 216
Hi and thanks for the great input! The light stayed on solid and it was not a hot day by any means. I will see if it comes on again.

Is it something that MUST be replaced if bad, or is it just more of a fuel economy issue?

Is it hard to replace? Did you have to do it on yours?

Thanks again

Paul
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old February 17th, 2005, 09:11 PM
48vphantom's Avatar
48vphantom
Status: Offline
Jeff Hoien
1997 NAS D90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 96
Paul, thanks for the info...here is what the ws manual says about the sensor

"The EFT sensor is located on the fuel rail. This sensor

measures temperature of the rail rather than the fuel.

The resistance varies with changes in temperature.

The signal is used to increase the injection pulse time

when undergoing hot restarts. When the fuel is hot,

vapourisation occurs in the rail which may result in the

formation of bubbles in the injectors. Increasing the

pulse time helps flush the bubbles away and cools the

fuel rail with fuel from the tank.

An EFT sensor fault may not be evident to the driver,

there may be a hot restart problem. The fault is

indicated by illumination of the malfunction indicator

light (MIL)."
If you can, pull the connector off and measure the resistance accross the two pins..engine cold and hot(engine off, of course) that will tell for sure if the sensor is bad. If you cannot measure the resistance at all(meaning that no setting on the meter will give you a number, than the sensor has an open circuit and has failed. No i haven't replaced mine, i've spent too much time diagnosing fault codes. Most sensors can be metered to find out if they are working properly, a very simple procedure.. let me know what you get and we'll go from there...
jeff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2008, 07:55 PM
GYM's Avatar
GYM
Status: Offline
Gary
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,062
Resurrecting an old thread...

I think my fuel temperature sensor may be going bad. I get a recurring fuel sensor circuit fault, (but thankfully have never had a hot re-start problem.)

Given that RN wants $152 for a new sensor; I'd like to test mine first to be sure. How do you 'meter' a sensor to find out if it is working properly (as mentioned in the original post above)? Has anyone ever done this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 14th, 2008, 08:12 PM
proulx70's Avatar
proulx70
Status: Offline
Paul S.
1997 NAS BRG Soft-Top
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 216
Get the new one from British Pacific. They get them wholesale from the OEM manufacturer. Cost me about 30 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 17th, 2008, 10:08 AM
GYM's Avatar
GYM
Status: Offline
Gary
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,062
OK, great. Thanks for the suggestion.
Have you had that fault code pop up since you replaced it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 17th, 2008, 11:57 AM
proulx70's Avatar
proulx70
Status: Offline
Paul S.
1997 NAS BRG Soft-Top
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 216
Nope; good to go for over three years now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 17th, 2008, 04:05 PM
GYM's Avatar
GYM
Status: Offline
Gary
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,062
Excellent. Thanks, Paul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fault Code #26 Doug Defender Technical Discussions 8 July 10th, 2013 10:54 AM
Fault Code "03" Doug Defender Technical Discussions 15 July 18th, 2005 10:38 PM
Fault Code 19 chrisvonc Defender Technical Discussions 17 April 29th, 2005 05:28 PM
Fault Code 45? Troys Defender Technical Discussions 2 October 20th, 2004 01:04 AM
Fault Code 15 Troys Defender Technical Discussions 1 March 9th, 2004 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Copyright