Fault Code "03" - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old December 17th, 2004, 11:26 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
Fault Code "03"

The 110 just threw a fault code "03", which is not in the 'book'. Anyone know what it means? Also accompanied by a drop in idle speed. I'm running a 14cux ecu, came out of a 95 disco but I think all 14cux's are the same.

Thanks,

Doug W.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old December 17th, 2004, 11:42 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
I don't know how good this is but I found it in the FAQ

OBD error code #3 means "memory interruption" in the computer. It can be caused by water (if anyone remembers the VT trip) or an electrical surge from the "thingie" that sends electrical current to the distributor

I say reset the ECU and see if it returns.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 18th, 2004, 03:13 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
Thanks, Mike. Adding the word 'memory' to a google search and I found a reference that said 'memory cleared'. I drove her this morning and the fault turned itself off -- then the CPA took about 30 minutes to 'reeducate' itself to the proper idle setting. All good.

Doug W.

Follow-up Post:

sorry 'ECU'. Must have end-of-year on my brain.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2005, 12:20 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
Hey guys,
I just found out that this is what is happening to my truck. It happens a lot and I am wondering if there is anything I can do about it. I get the #3 fault code, and when I press in the clutch the tach goes crazy and sometimes shuts the car off.
How do I reset the ECU? and is this just a fluke that happens a lot to me?
Thanks
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2005, 08:06 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
http://www.pangeaexpeditions.com/tech/obdcodes.html

Instructions on Fault Code #2 on how to reset. I haven't a clue why the #03 code occurs. Lucky for me it stopped recurring.

Good luck with it, Kris.

DW
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2005, 11:21 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
Thanks Doug,

Hopefully I can figure out how to fix it so it quits making my truck run like sh*t
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 28th, 2005, 06:07 PM
read's Avatar
read
Status: Offline
Read Kerlin
'94 w/ POE HT
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 244
When my ECU coded with a #3 I opened up the ECU to find that there was water pooling in the case. dried it out and reinstalled. also cleaned the contacts and used lots of dialectic grease. no prob yet... knock, knock. That was in '03.
__________________
Insert pithy quote here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 28th, 2005, 09:31 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
Are there any problems with opening up the ECU? I thought i heard somewhere that you shouldnt dissconnect it.
Thanks
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 28th, 2005, 09:36 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
You can switch them out like spark plugs. Pull one, put another in, etc. Just don't give the circuit board a static discharge by accident if you decide to take the actual box apart - rarely but possible could cause issues with the firmware loaded in the chips.

Doug W.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 29th, 2005, 01:11 PM
read's Avatar
read
Status: Offline
Read Kerlin
'94 w/ POE HT
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 244
just treat it like you were upgrading RAM on your PC and you'll be fine.
__________________
Insert pithy quote here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 29th, 2005, 03:56 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
sounds good,
thanks guys
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 27th, 2005, 03:14 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
I keep getting this 03 code and its starting to piss me off. It happens all the time. This morning I didn't even get out of the driveway before it died on me. It only happens when the car is in neutral or i have the clutch engaged, but the check engine light pops on before that and the car looses power and lurches very suddenly. After that when i get to a stop sign its dead. I really dont understand what this is. It seems to be random. Any ideas? Thanks

Forgot to mention, I opened up the ECU cleaned it with some electronic spray then put it in a bag in a tupperware box and sealed it up. So im pretty sure its not moisture in the ECU.
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 27th, 2005, 03:42 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick in the FAQ
OBD error code #3 means "memory interruption" in the computer. It can be caused by water (if anyone remembers the VT trip) or an electrical surge from the "thingie" that sends electrical current to the distributor.

-Rick
I would check the wire running from the coil to the ECU and the wire running from +12 volts to the coil. The first is white with black strips, the second I think is just white. They both come off the coil going back toward the firewall. THe other wires on the coild should go to the distributer, I might have a look at them also just too make sure all the connectors are good.

Is there anyone near you that you can try another ECU or let him try yours to try and narrow down the problem?
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 29th, 2005, 02:51 PM
Billakris's Avatar
Billakris
Status: Offline
Kris
Alpine White 95 Soft Top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City/ Manhattan, KS
Posts: 271
Mike,
I checked all the connections and it died the next time i took it out. Any other suggestions to rule things out? I have a friend that I could swap ECU's with, but hes out of town for the summer. Hes my only 90 connection around here.
Thanks for the help,
Kris
__________________
Kris
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 29th, 2005, 03:49 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
You might try http://www.carcannibal.com/rover/ to get a new ECU to try, you just need a 14CUX, it can be from anything that has a 3.9 just as long as it says 14CUX.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 18th, 2005, 10:38 PM
Ragland's Avatar
Ragland
Status: Online
Robert Ragland
1994 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 647
I started getting this code recently. Is there a better explanation for this code than what I am reading here? Anyone have more experience with this? Is it a sign of an ecu needing replacement?
__________________
"Uhh...I think they all leak like that."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fault Code #26 Doug Defender Technical Discussions 8 July 10th, 2013 10:54 AM
Fault Code 19 chrisvonc Defender Technical Discussions 17 April 29th, 2005 05:28 PM
Fault Code Help howellm70 Defender Technical Discussions 1 January 30th, 2005 05:43 PM
Fault Code 45? Troys Defender Technical Discussions 2 October 20th, 2004 01:04 AM
Fault Code 15 Troys Defender Technical Discussions 1 March 9th, 2004 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Copyright