Electrical Question #2: High Beams turns off after 15 min. - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old August 25th, 2010, 09:44 PM
Manimal
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team

Electrical Question #2: High Beams turns off after 15 min.

I have a pair of Auxiliary Hellas hooked up to my standard driving driving lights. They are off normally but when I switch the driving lights to High Beam the Auxiliary also turns on. They run fine for about 15 minutes then all four switch off. If I am out driving in the woods it just goes pitch black. Low beams work fine after that happens but if I turn on high beams again they last for a second then switch off (black). If I try again, same result. Low beams ok but high beam off after 1 second. Any idea what is causing this? Being an electrical newbie I am guessing a relay? I don't think it is a loose wire because it is pretty consistent, it doesn't happen randomly. It's not a fuse. Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 25th, 2010, 09:58 PM
MonLand
Loic Fabro
95 D90 - 96 Disco -06 LR3

Registry
The headlight switch has the tendency to burn out/melt. Did you put everything relay-operated? Anyway, I'd check the switch first.
it is not hoarding it is selective collecting
---
MonLand
1995 D90 NAS
1996 Discovery NAS
2006 LR3 NAS (hers, but comfy! :) )
Old August 25th, 2010, 11:19 PM
Manimal
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team

I didn't install it myself. It is operated by the standard headlight switch lever to the left of the steering wheel. Do you think this one is burnt out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonLand View Post
The headlight switch has the tendency to burn out/melt. Did you put everything relay-operated? Anyway, I'd check the switch first.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 26th, 2010, 09:06 AM
leastonce
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team

Registry