Electrical problem - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old December 9th, 2004, 11:06 PM
whistler110
Mike Johnstone
ex-mod 110

Electrical problem

This may be a really stupid question but I'm not very good at remembering electrics.

I thought I might have a leak in the electrical system so I pulled the pos. leed and connected a voltmeter between the battery post and pos. leed. With everything turned off I was reading 12.5 Volts. I'm not sure if my Ampmeter is working so I can't be sure on the draw. It looked to be reading in the milliAmps.

I tried removing fuses and nothing changed.

I removed the main line from the alternator and then there was no reading on the Voltmeter. The Alternator did have some problems recently but has been charging the battery.

Should there be a voltage draw when the ignition if turned off and I don't have a clock or other "always on" item? Should the alternator be grounding, or am I way off base?
Advertisement

Old December 9th, 2004, 11:58 PM
Davis
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS

First off, you don't need to disconnect anything to read volts--only amps, so disconnecting and reading 12.5 is normal. Connected, you could read the same thing. Volts, to notice a "leak" is pretty irrelevant--you need to measure the amperage "draw" which you do need to hook the meter in line to achieve.
Old December 10th, 2004, 12:09 AM
Mike Hippert
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover

Mike, with everything off if you pull the + lead off the battery and measure voltage between the pos lead and the negative on the battery then you have current draw someplace.

You said you were not sure if the amp meter was working right, on most meters you have to move the + lead to a differnt connector on the meter to measure current, did you do this (I forget sometimes and think I broke something then go DUH! and hook the meter up right).