Electrical for beginners - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old October 15th, 2004, 05:10 PM
paulb
Paul / Boultbee
1994 D-90, Green #1576

Question Electrical for beginners

I just did a forum search for everythig electrical. Holy hot wire batman... so much stuff,
But help. For the absolute beginner on D-90 electrical, what do you all recommend as reading to start to get to speed on this topic? I want to ultimately understand the electrical system so to know what i am doing to rewire the external lights, add spots, fix the cig. lighter, etc.

I know this is simple to many, but not to me. Its pissing me off I can amputate a leg from the knee (the silly things one picks up in life but I used to hang with some Doc.s w/out bourner types) but can not do the basics on my wheels. I just need something to read to start to get a grip on how it all works. Should I be or when all I want is
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 15th, 2004, 06:05 PM
JimC
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team

Registry
Its so very simple, all you really need is an electrical circuit diagram. After spending a while studying the diagram and comparing it to your vehicle (it may have been a bit modified at this point), it will all make sense. I dont have a diagram for 94, and the one in the shop manual sux. Call George at RDS and see if he'll sell you one of the nice laminated ones.
Old October 15th, 2004, 06:46 PM
DJ Menasco
DJ Menasco
#500/500

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulb
I just did a forum search for everythig electrical. Holy hot wire batman... so much stuff,
But help. For the absolute beginner on D-90 electrical, what do you all recommend as reading to start to get to speed on this topic? I want to ultimately understand the electrical system so to know what i am doing to rewire the external lights, add spots, fix the cig. lighter, etc.