ECU readout - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 03:09 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
ECU readout

I heard from some people on another site that Land Rover ECU's have a digital readout of the trouble codes that are stored in memory. Does anybody know if a 94 D90 has this on the ECU? The check engine light came on, and we really don't want to pay the "stealer" to fix it if we don't have to. ANy info is appreciated!

Also,
Is the ECU different from the Electronic Fuel Injection module that sits in the passenger side footwell (LHD)?

TIA!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 03:39 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
YEP the 94s have it. It is to the right of the ECM or Electronic Fuel Injection module in the passenger side footwel .
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 04:26 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
The lead on my 110 was long enough, so I took the fault code read out box to the outside, and velcro'd it to the fuse box. Now I can see fault codes the minute one turns up. Last one I had was an 88, giggled the wires a bit on the purge valve, and it went away on restart. Makes you want to go through every damn connnector in the engine bay....

DW
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 04:52 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,525
Registry
If its on a 95 and 97 its in the passenger side seat box
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 04:52 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
OK guys, wow those were some quick responses.

We have the A/C installed in there, and it was covering up the box. But, I still think I am missing something. I found the little black readout box, but there is no readout on it that I can see anywhere. Do you have to open it up? or what? I am sure it is the readout box because it says so on it. I just can't figure out how to get the dang thing opened.

TIA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 04:58 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
hmm, when my AC was in there was a little cover right next to the door that is held on by 2 screws, the box is tinted red.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 05:13 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
Yeah, that sounds like the one, really dark red. Anyway, Let me give you guys the whole story.

So, about a week ago, the dealer cleared the check engine light and told us the problem was with the O2 sensor. The dealer wanted too much for the sensor, so we bought one ourselves and were going to replace it, then we realized we didn't know which side was the bad one. We couldn't check by trial and error because the check engine light is off now (and has stayed off...???). We don't want to buy another O2 sensor if we don't have to, but we don't know which side to put this one in.

Now, I just went out and checked the readout and nothing showed up. (I tried it with the car on/engine off, then I looked again with the engine on) Does it show up pretty bright on there when one does come up? When they cleared the check engine light, I assume they purged the ECU memory also, hence no DTC on the readout, am I right? Anyway, thanks for the help!! I have to say this is one of the best forums, you guys are quick!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 05:50 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
You can see it very clearly through the side of the box. There are 2 numbers and they show up red. If you can follow the cable back to the ECM, it should have a connector on it in line to the ECM, they may not have connected it back up all the way at the dealer when they reset the ECM. By the way, you can reset it by disconnecting the battery, or by the method in the FAQ section. Also you should be able to take it to Auto zone and they can hook up there reader to it and they will let you know whats wrong for free, and reset the ECM.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 06:26 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
Some Piccies

Ok, here's some pics of what I found.


So where do the numbers display? On pic #3 is the readout above the little white sticker?

Thanks! I'll do some checking on the leads to the ECU.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0069.JPG
Views:	235
Size:	22.2 KB
ID:	1394   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0070.JPG
Views:	227
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	1395  

Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0071.JPG
Views:	240
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	1396  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 06:39 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Yep thats it, and yes on pic #3 right above the sticker.

Some Fault code stuff

http://www.defendersource.com/faq/En...ult.html#Codes

http://www.rangie.com/articles_topic...at=6&subCat=26
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 08:11 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
If you disconnect the battery and then turn on ignition, you should be able to see a fault code '02', which just means the power was cut to the ecu recently. It'll go away on second restart. That's just if you want to 'see' the lit display...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 3rd, 2004, 09:59 AM
dante18's Avatar
dante18
Status: Offline
Dante
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 80
CBass, have someone turn the ignition key as you are looking at the display. Sometimes the code comes on for a second as you turn the key, at least on mine anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:34 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
OK, thanks guys. I tried what Dante 18 said so far, and the screen flashed, so at least I know it's working and getting power. I guess all the codes were cleared by the dealer. I have yet to try what Doug suggested, maybe I will today. Anyway, for now I am just going to flip a coin and put the O2 sensor in one side for now, and if I see any codes, I'll buy another one. Thanks for all the help guys!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 17th, 2005, 06:59 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
If there are multiple codes in there, what happens?

It seems like I read somewhere that you have to clear the first one to be able to see subsequent ones, is that correct? If there are multiple ones, will it just cycle through all of them, one after another?

I'm getting a 45 right now which is a Right side O2 sensor. What I am wondering is if maybe the other o2 sensors are bad too and they just aren't showing up on the ECU readout, could that be? I would rather just make one order for the O2 sensors rather than have to make another order later.

TIA
__________________
Mom: "Boy, you got champagne taste on a beer budget."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 17th, 2005, 08:13 PM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
http://www.defendersource.com/faq/En...ult.html#Codes

Scroll down a little in this link
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 17th, 2005, 10:05 PM
cbass's Avatar
cbass
Status: Offline
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SLC, Utah, USA
Posts: 540
Perfect Mike! Once again, the D-90 guru has spoken... and solved another problem!!

Thanks!
__________________
Mom: "Boy, you got champagne taste on a beer budget."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ecu

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Sensor and ECU Issues DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 14 February 16th, 2006 08:45 PM
D-90 Ecu roverboy For Sale - Parts 11 October 20th, 2005 11:57 AM
Interface on '94 ECU (OBD-I?) jaherring Defender Technical Discussions 10 October 11th, 2005 10:06 PM
Where did you put your ECU jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 6 January 12th, 2005 11:31 AM
Wiring question - bypassing ECU for rear defogger dmarchand Defender Technical Discussions 8 September 30th, 2004 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Copyright