ECU Question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old June 15th, 2005, 09:23 AM
dbwitt's Avatar
dbwitt
Status: Offline
Darrin Witt
1995 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 47
ECU Question

I checked the previous threads and did not see an answer to my question. This should be an easy one for most of you folks out there. When installing an ECU in a 4.0 litre engine do you need to have it programed in any way by the dealership or do you plug it in and drive away? I have one that is not functioning and the dealership wanted 2500 hundred dollars. I got one for 600.00 hundred bucks. But the dealership guys tell me they need to program it. I thought it came programed to work on the 4.0 already? Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old June 15th, 2005, 09:33 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
Where did you buy it from? I would think the ECU should be all set unless it was running a different engine (like a 4.6). I am not 100% on the 97's ECUs but I thought it was just plug it in and go.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 15th, 2005, 11:19 AM
artm
Status: Offline
Arthur Maravelis
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 985
I think the ECU has to be matched to the vehicle anti-theft/immobilization "computer". You connect them to Rovacom and it programs them to recognize each other. Then you have a "legitimate" combo.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old June 15th, 2005, 06:54 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
95 -- humm. I put a 95 disco ecu in my 93 and it works like a bomb.

Just plug it in and run it. If it's a near year, can't hurt a thing, imho. I bought mine from RoverLandParts in FL for $250.

DW
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 16th, 2005, 08:22 AM
Mike Hippert's Avatar
Mike Hippert
Status: Offline
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester NH USA
Posts: 4,789
OK I am a little confused, is this for a 4.0 or a 3.9? If it's a 3.9 then what Doug said is right they are plug and go. If it is a 97 then it may not be as simple.
__________________
Don't forget to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
first then ask questions later! The loose nut behind the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 16th, 2005, 08:32 AM
dbwitt's Avatar
dbwitt
Status: Offline
Darrin Witt
1995 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 47
It is for a 4.0. The dealership says they need to program it. 3.9 is plug and play. The dealership here in Charleston, SC is not a total rip off-most of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 16th, 2005, 10:27 AM
artm
Status: Offline
Arthur Maravelis
97 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 985
It's for the '97 only. There's a black box behind the gauge cluster I believe that needs to be told that there's a new ECU installed. Otherwise they won't work together. It's some kind of security feature.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 16th, 2005, 04:34 PM
scoloco's Avatar
scoloco
Status: Offline
Scott
'94 D90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 372
Wow, those 3.9s do actually have an advantage over the 4.0/4.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 17th, 2005, 06:49 AM
sheki's Avatar
sheki
Status: Offline
David Shechter
97' D90 SW 2.8L diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 578
I had a problem with my check engine light and my speed sensors, I thought it may be a bad ECU. David M. was selling his a while back so I bought it. I just swapped them out, no problems at all. It didn't solve my check engine problem but it was not because of the ECU. If you ask me you can just swap them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 17th, 2005, 11:13 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug
Status: Offline
Doug Walker
TVR5L-powered NAS D-110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 880
Any 14CUX can be swapped with another 14CUX, imho. They are the same, whether from a Triumph or Jag or Land Rover. I believe the 93 thru 95s all had either a 14CU (93) or 14CUX. Says what it is on the box. The 14 CUX can be swapped for a 14CU but not the other way around.

So says RPI (www.v8engines.com).

Doug W.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 17th, 2005, 11:44 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
you said '95? Do you have the serpentine belt with distributor? Or Distributorless?

Your ECU is under the passenger seat I believe, correct? Does it have a model number on it? As mentioned above 14CUX would be the distributor style ECU. The distributorless type does need to be programmed IIRC.

-Hans
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ecu

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R-380 to Auto, connecting to ECU question btate Defender Technical Discussions 0 August 25th, 2008 04:59 PM
Speed Sensor and ECU Issues DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 14 February 16th, 2006 08:45 PM
Where did you put your ECU jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 6 January 12th, 2005 11:31 AM
Wiring question - bypassing ECU for rear defogger dmarchand Defender Technical Discussions 8 September 30th, 2004 11:21 AM
Main Gearbox Question dbwitt Defender Technical Discussions 3 April 10th, 2004 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Copyright