ECU extension cable - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 30th, 2011, 05:29 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
ECU extension cable

Scorpion Racing used to sell this, it was a male/female 36" cable that will allow you to place the ECU anywhere you want in the bulkhead.

Any idea where to obtain?
any qualified genius can make them?

Thanks
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 30th, 2011, 08:48 PM
maleger
Status: Offline
Marc-Andre Leger
94D90 CDN#18 http://rover.leger.ca
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 395
Registry
ECU extention

I'm a certified Geek and own a geek pride tshirt... but not a genius. I would love to make myself one of these extentions, but have not yet been able to find the right connectors.

A source for the connectors to make the cables would make me happy !

------ Follow up post added May 30th, 2011 08:49 PM ------

I'm a certified Geek and own a geek pride tshirt... but not a genius. I would love to make myself one of these extentions, but have not yet been able to find the right connectors.

A source for the connectors to make the cables would make me happy !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 30th, 2011, 09:49 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Grab a chunk of harness and the ecu from a disco at a junk yard. Should just be a matter of de-soldering the connector from the ecu board and soldering it up to the chunk of harness no?

No genius, but pretty geeky and proud of it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 30th, 2011, 10:03 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
There is a great chance of Hell freezing over before I could manage soldering computer type connectors
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 31st, 2011, 01:20 AM
TS888's Avatar
TS888
Status: Offline
Tony Sims
1984 110
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: White Salmon, WA
Posts: 460
Why bother with soldering, just splice in a section of cable. Crimp connect or solder, it's just time consuming, not difficult.
__________________
Quote:
[appropriated from Ren Ching] Most faults can usually be traced to the badge on the grill.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris snell
This is straight out of the Manual for Build Builders.
Tony
1984 110 "Smokey" (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 31st, 2011, 08:22 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
The only difference is that you could just plug/unplug and leave the existing wiring intact and unchanged.

But yes it would be much easier to just splice in an extension piece from a disco.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 31st, 2011, 10:09 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,844
Registry
A 14cux genius I am not. But, wouldn't butt connector or soldering longer wire in change some of the resistence readings from say the temp sensors and tps ?
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 31st, 2011, 10:25 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
I wondered about that but since others have done this I assume the answer is no. Were not talking huge lengths of wire so I assume the additional resistance is negligible, assuming clean connections.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 1st, 2011, 06:56 PM
Gren_T's Avatar
Gren_T
Status: Offline
Gren Thomas
1985 90 300tdi auto
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: bridgend, wales , UK
Posts: 413
Hi Chaps, don't think of splicing the ECU harness your asking for trouble.
resistance changes in the joints aside you will not be able to seal the joint effectively, the conductor will corrode eventually kill the harness and possibly the ECU.

Bearmach sells the longer harness, i'll check on it and post back in the morning.

BTW i have seen a challenge truck that had the ecu mounted on the roll cage, and he just used scotch lock connectors to join 2 separate lengths together.

regards

Gren
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 05:14 AM
Gren_T's Avatar
Gren_T
Status: Offline
Gren Thomas
1985 90 300tdi auto
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: bridgend, wales , UK
Posts: 413
Bearmach part number for the td5 ecu relocation harness is BA4202, i was quoted a trade price but expect retail is arround 200.
The harness is made by a company called dastek, both companies have US distributors.

regards

Gren
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 07:20 AM
TS888's Avatar
TS888
Status: Offline
Tony Sims
1984 110
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: White Salmon, WA
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by 130Tdi View Post
A 14cux genius I am not. But, wouldn't butt connector or soldering longer wire in change some of the resistence readings from say the temp sensors and tps ?

Probably safer just to swap to a diesel.
__________________
Quote:
[appropriated from Ren Ching] Most faults can usually be traced to the badge on the grill.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris snell
This is straight out of the Manual for Build Builders.
Tony
1984 110 "Smokey" (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 05:08 PM
Gren_T's Avatar
Gren_T
Status: Offline
Gren Thomas
1985 90 300tdi auto
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: bridgend, wales , UK
Posts: 413
OOPs complete brain fart.. i was thinking of a TD5 ECU...

I have the wiring diagram and specs for the v8 ecu's including the part numbers of the connectors, i just have to find the info, it's on a cd somewhere.

regards all
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 3rd, 2011, 04:04 AM
Gren_T's Avatar
Gren_T
Status: Offline
Gren Thomas
1985 90 300tdi auto
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: bridgend, wales , UK
Posts: 413
custom engine looms for rover V8: http://www.lloydspecialistdevelopmen.../products.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ecu

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Sensor and ECU Issues DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 14 February 16th, 2006 08:45 PM
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
Interface on '94 ECU (OBD-I?) jaherring Defender Technical Discussions 10 October 11th, 2005 10:06 PM
Where did you put your ECU jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 6 January 12th, 2005 11:31 AM
Wiring question - bypassing ECU for rear defogger dmarchand Defender Technical Discussions 8 September 30th, 2004 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Copyright