Easy Gas Mileage Bump - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 25th, 2007, 06:55 PM
jimngo
Jim Ngo
1994 D90 #80

Easy Gas Mileage Bump

About a month ago I advanced my timing from the factory spec 5 BTDC to 7 BTDC. The downside is that I have to run mid-grade fuel now, but the upside is that my gas mileage went from around 13 to 15.5-16 MPG. It's well worth the extra 10 cents per gallon.

I waited a while to post this in order to run through a few tanks of gas to make sure it wasn't just a fluke. But the last 3 tank fulls have all come in between 15.5 and 16 MPG. There hasn't been performance degradation as far as I can tell.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 25th, 2007, 09:11 PM
JimC
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team

Registry
So you used to run the 3.9 on regular? Is that what most people do? I'm a V8 newbie!
Old May 25th, 2007, 10:01 PM
themaxx
Ade
94 ST

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC
So you used to run the 3.9 on regular? Is that what most people do? I'm a V8 newbie!
I believe we're suppose to use premium.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 25th, 2007, 10:11 PM
oldscratchggf
nate
95 d90

I`ve always used premium, for what it`s worth. For those of us that arn`t the most mechanically inclined (which will prove interesting next year when I start building up a 110), what all is involved with adjusting the timing?
Old May 25th, 2007, 10:27 PM
themaxx
Ade
94 ST

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldscratchggf
For those of us that arn`t the most mechanically inclined (which will prove interesting next year when I start building up a 110), what all is involved with adjusting the timing?
I resemble that question!
Old May 26th, 2007, 11:54 AM
jimngo
Jim Ngo
1994 D90 #80