Distributor OR Ignition Module? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old August 27th, 2008, 04:40 PM
tdn
Troy Norton
'94 D90

Distributor OR Ignition Module?

i've been checking out all the threads about problems with the ignition system and I have a hunch what I need to do, but since I'm new to all this I figured I'd put the question out there just to be sure........

'94 D90 began stumbling a bit on the highway, got progressively worse and now won't start. Brought it in to get checked out and I'm told the problem is with the distributor. Its got the stock distributor with the ignition amplifier module still mounted on the side of it. They say they ruled out the coil pack by swapping with brand new one with no luck. What they're telling me is they aren't getting a signal from the ignition module to the coil. They're suggesting I get a new distributor and the ignition module relocation kit....they priced parts from LR at $1100 and said they're on backorder for a month. They said the relocation kit alone was $700.

So after all the reading on this site, I'm thinking it sounds like the #1 source of the problem is the ignition module going bad due to heat and vibration while mounted on distributor. I started searching around and saw the kit ranging from $200 (used parts from somebody on this site) to $500 on altantic british.

Looks like the mechanic is definitely marking up the price of parts so I'll just get them myself. But should I just first go with the ignition module replacement? or change the distributor as well?

If I've got to go with a new distributor, is the Mallory my best bet (fewest mods, cheaper than LR, etc)? And do I still need the relocation kit from LR? I'm not looking to make a project out of this. Just need to get back on the road and $1100 just didn't sound right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 27th, 2008, 05:38 PM
evilfij
evilfij